RSW Update Two

RSW9

Ready. Set. Write! is a summer long writing challenge hosted by Erin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, Alison Miller, Jamie Morrow and Katy Upperman where we write, revise, plot and cheer each other on.

How I did on last week’s goals

  • Finish one side-hustle article. Done! Hopefully with a few more of these under my belt it will go from “side” to actual hustle.
  • Find one writing contest to enterI submitted pages for the Manny Writing Contest hosted by Midwest Writers Workshop. Wish me luck!
  • Draft 2,000 words. Counting side-hustling, abstract writing and fiction, I hit the mark.

My goals for this week

  • Query drafting
  • Finish beta reading
  • Get to phase II of TWSHS revision plan

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

We’re supposed to believe he’s good in bed? He couldn’t find a vagina in the daytime with a flashlight.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write).

The Charleston Massacre.

Something I love about my WiP.

My MCs voice is so interesting to me: snarky, messy, shady.

8 thoughts on “RSW Update Two”

  1. Good luck with the contest and your goals for this week. Charleston really hit me hard too … and continues to hit (as evidenced by how much it took over my RSWrite post this week. I want to say that I can do something proactive about it, but I feel so lost. :/

    Like

    1. Thanks. Change doesn’t always have to happen on a huge scale. You can do something proactive–everyone can–by challenging anti-black attitudes, practices, systems wherever you find them, including your own.

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

