RSW Update One

RSW9

Ready. Set. Write! is a summer long writing challenge hosted by Erin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, Alison Miller, Jamie Morrow and Katy Upperman where we write, revise, plot and cheer each other on.

How I did on last week’s goals

  • Finish one book for the YA Bucanneers Summer Reading Challenge. I read TINY PRETTY THINGS by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton and ESSSENTIAL X-MEN, Vol. 7.

 

YAB Summer Reading 1

  • Revise four chapters of THINGS WE SHOULD HAVE SAID. I did three! They’re horribly out of context and probably need to happen sooner in the story than I anticipated but it’s progress.
  • Stick to my sleep plan and get good restThis was really successful. I’m proud that with the exception of one night when I’d had too much chai latte and insomnia reared its ugly head, I slept really well.

My goals for this week

  • Finish side hustle article.
  • Find one writing contest to enter.
  • Draft 2,000 words.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

But after getting myself off a couple of times and eating, I collapsed into an orgasmic food coma.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write).

Balance. It seemed like every time I sat down to write, something got in the way. I need to do a better job of scheduling my time and sticking to it.

Something I love about my WiP.

Drafting is everything. I can just pour stuff out on the page and I don’t have to worry about if it makes complete sense or if everything’s in its proper place. It’s the part of writing that feels most creative to me.

 

12 thoughts on “RSW Update One”

  1. Dude. Your line from your WiP is awesome. And yes – isn’t drafting wonderful?! If I can get my inner editor to turn off (successful half the time) it’s just incredible spewing my brain onto the page.

    Good luck this week with your goals!

    Like

  2. Hahah, your lines are always gold 🙂 So much unfiltered goodness!

    How was TINY PRETTY THINGS? It’s a book that just recently popped up on my radar and I haven’t heard many thoughts about it yet.

    Like

  3. Balance is always a struggle for me too. Especially this summer though. Good luck on your goals, and I hope you get lots of sleep again so you’ll be refreshed and ready to write!

    Like

  4. Too much chai latte? No such thing! Good work on getting three chapters revised. Something’s always better than nothing 🙂 Also, we like the goal of finding a writing contest to enter- that’s a good way to keep yourself on point. Good luck with that & the rest of your goals!

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

