What’s Up Wednesday

Castle Button (Final)

What’s Up Wednesday is a blog hop created by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk to help writers stay connected. See what other WUW writers are up to here.

WHAT I’M READING

I’m usually in the middle of reading several things and as I’ve been unpacking, of course I’m discovering all kinds of goodies. So this week finds me in the midst of Kody Keplinger’s A MIDSUMMER’S NIGHTMARE. I really enjoy Keplinger’s command of voice and her flawed characters. Plus the snark is so strong with this one!

WHAT I’M WRITING

Some of my writer pals took a gander at a makeout scene from the short story I’m drafting. I kept the freaking out to a minimum thanks to some excellent advice to distract myself with video games. Apparently, I was worried for absolutely nothing because their comments were stellar. Like, tear-inducing. Like, I was doing a Charlie Brown-style happy dance.

charlie-brown-dance-o

And these writers are super-talented and brutally honest, so I know they weren’t just blowing smoke. So between that boost of encouragement and dedicated writing sprints, this thing should be a wrap in a couple of weeks.

WHAT WORKS FOR ME

Lately: Asking for feedback. Releasing that stuff into the wild and letting other people take a peek. Trying not to discourage myself so much that I stop dead in my tracks. Writing something every day, even if it’s just a sentence. Offering support to other writers.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

  • Unpacking
  • Getting new furniture
  • Crafting cover letters
  • Trying to figure out how to be a grown up
8 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. Writing something every day – YES! Wise words! And yay for sharing and great feedback! Also, I LOVE all things Kody Keplinger! She’s amazing!

    Like

    1. I used to be really good at writing every day but somewhere around Thanksgiving I fell out of the habit. It feels nice to be back at it. And I’ve had a writer crush on Kody Keplinger forever. She just gets better and better!

      Like

  2. I always freak out about those types of scenes too. Lucky for me, I can just pass them along to Jaime before anyone else sees them. It’s awesome having a writer for a sister because she’s my test subject for everything and I’m already used to embarrassing myself in front of her lol. It’s great that you got positive feedback on your scene!

    Good luck with the unpacking and furniture shopping! Sounds busy but fun! 🙂

    Like

    1. I figured I was doing okay since the entire scene had me giggling like a kid. 😀 How cool that you already have somebody that’s seen you at your most embarrassing worst to read your stuff. LOL

      Hopefully, I can get this stuff done soon. Living out of boxes is already pretty annoying. But the new furniture is great motivation!

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

