What’s Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is a blog hop created by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk to help writers not lose their collective shit while navigating this creative life. Oh, wait. That’s just me? Anyhoo, see what other WUW writers are up to here.

WHAT I’M READING

Jess Rothenberg’s THE CATASTROPHIC HISTORY OF YOU AND ME. I’m only a couple of chapters in but already quite intrigued. The main character starts off in an awful place and it can only get interminably worse, right? Or maybe not. Man, I love the messy middle! One gripe: I prefer this edition’s look over the one I bought but my budget loved the hardcover’s discounted price more.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I had a slight existential crisis when I finally admitted I had to change a main character’s name in the dual POV I’ve been struggling with forever. There’s still some (friendly) familial dispute as to whether my niece swiped the name for her baby but alas, it cannot stand.

I think I’ve found a good fit but for now, I’m keeping that name to myself. Trust no one 😀

WHAT WORKS FOR ME

Remembering that reading is part of writing. I’ve spent some time away from this blog and writing in general the past few weeks while I process all that’s going on life-wise. Reading is fun and therapeutic and inspiring. It’s no coincidence that once I got back into reading, the urge to write bubbled up soon thereafter.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

  • Decompressing
  • Resting
  • Job-hunting
  • Embracing all that is bourgeois and ratchet within me

 

 

3 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. Sometimes naming characters can be tough for me because if I find a name I really love, I want it for a character, but what if I decide to have children someday and want that name for them? Writer problems. *shakes head*

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

