What’s Up Wednesday

WUWMaple2

See what other WUW writers are up to here.

WHAT I’M READING

This week I finished Julie Halpern’s GET WELL SOON and Jennifer Mathieu’s THE TRUTH ABOUT ALICE. Both were great examples of voice (Mathieu’s handling of multiple POVs was inspiring) with well-developed and deliciously complex characters. I’m also halfway through amazing work from my writing pal Cara Davis. Next up: Hannah Moscowitz’s BREAK.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Revising, revising, and more revising. HAPPENS FOR A REASON is looking great (she says humbly). I’m trying my hand at more detailed plotting for a new WIP since that skill definitely needs development. We’ll see how that goes.

WHAT WORKS FOR ME

Character Q&A. Interviewing my characters helps develop voice and it’s amazing what kind of random personality quirks will pop up.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

  • Getting ready for a writing retreat
  • Fighting for work/life balance
  • Making revision playlists
  • Researching writing residencies
  • Crafting my annual Halloween film fest
6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. What a great idea to interview your characters! I can see how that would really help in developing voice. I might have to try that some time. Hope the revising goes well this week! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve never attempted doing a character Q&A, but that sounds like a great idea. I think the more you know your characters going into drafting a story the better. Of course, things emerge as you go, but it’s still a great idea. Thanks for the tip! 😀

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

