Armchair BEA: Hey Hey Hello

Armchair BEA is for those of us consumed with envy who can’t attend Book Expo America in New York City. Not that I care. I mean, who wants to be surrounded by all things books anyway? I’m just fine here at home. *stifles sobs* So for the first day, we’re introducing ourselves. There’s so many amazing folks participating this year so make sure you check them out as well.

Alfred de Dreux, Pug Dog in Armchair, 1857, Public domain via Wikimedia Commons
Alfred de Dreux, Pug Dog in Armchair, 1857, Public domain via Wikimedia Commons 

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? Where in the world are you blogging from? 

I’m Adrianne and I’ve been blogging at The Writers Republic since 2011. I started it mainly for accountability as I recommitted to writing. I’ve fallen off the scribe wagon so many times, I needed something to help keep me on track and (somewhat) sane. I live in the gorgeous Kansas Flint Hills where the buffalo roam.

What genre do you read the most? 

Young adult contemporary has my heart. It’s what I love to read and live to write. Those novels had the most impact on me as a young reader and (obviously) continue to do so.

What was your favorite book read last year? What’s your favorite book so far this year? 

That’s a toughie but my favorite read last year was Erica Lorraine Scheidt’s USES FOR BOYS. Love, love, love! So far this year I can’t seem to shake Abigal Haas’ DANGEROUS GIRLS. Twisty mindbendy, that one.

If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 3 books would you bring? Why? What 3 non-book items would you bring? Why? 

Is this a trick question? Have y’all watched “Naked and Afraid?” I’m STRANDED. I can’t eat books! Maybe some phone books to start a fire or beat off natural predators with. And then a firestarter, plastic tarp or something to keep the elements at bay and a big, sharp knife. Once I make it off the island or manage to re-establish some sort of civilization, I can think about reading again.

What book would you love to see as a movie? 

It is a sin and a shame that Octavia Butler’s KINDRED isn’t a movie. I could so get into that! Any of her work, really. It seems so fit for adaptation.

17 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Hey Hey Hello”

  1. Just dropping by to say hi to a fellow Armchair BEA participant and to get to know a little bit about you. I hope we cross paths again this week. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Adrianne! Oddly enough, I rated Uses for Boys only 2 stars – which is very rare for me. I typically don’t rate books that low, probably because I only choose what is highly probable I will enjoy. But I found that book to just be strange. To each their own though, right?

    Enjoy your week of Armchair BEA.
    Holly @ Words Fueled by Love

    Like

  3. LOL! I haven’t “Naked and Afraid?” yet. I am going to have to check it out.

    I am all about disaster preparedness. Probably from reading too many dystopian novels.

    Good call! KINDRED would be a great choice for a movie adaptation. Who would you cast as Dana Franklin?

    What are you looking forward to the most during Armchair BEA this week?

    Like

    1. That show is a trip! It’s teaching me a lot about surviving in the wilderness. LOL I think a super-talented unknown for that role would be great. That way you could just lose yourself in the story. I’m looking forward to meeting new bloggers and hopefully winning prizes. 😀

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

