Book Review: We Were Liars

we were liars

The Cover

Ah, the hot sun of privilege. It burns! Yet, I’m intrigued. *swims closer*

The Story

There’s a big boat on a cross-Atlantic trip and class warfare and star-crossed lovers and nekkid painting and backseat boogeying and hearts going on. Until that frigging iceberg shows up.

Telling Quote

Would I lie to you? Would I lie to you, honey? Now would I say something that wasn’t true? I’m asking you, sugar, would I lie to you?

Final Thoughts

I absolutely hated this book. I mean, seriously, can it be any more clichéd? I was only five pages in before I peeped where this story was going. It made great reading between loads of laundry or during trips to the loo, but the dull dialogue and pedantic prose hardly kept my interest. I’ve read more compelling Bazooka Joe wrappers. E. Lockhart is usually so spot-on! Wherever her mojo went, it needs to come back STAT. You should buy it. Or not. Meh.

WE WERE LIARS publishes May 13, 2014. I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

*This review is a complete lie.

 

 

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

