Bootcamp: Walk the Plank

walk the plank

The YA Buccaneers Spring Bootcamp is still underway and while I no longer feel like I’m driving the struggle bus, I’m definitely one of the passengers. Despite that, I’m pushing forward. In the spirit of accountability, I’m sharing a page from my WIP, THINGS WE SHOULD HAVE SAID, walk the plank style.

That first step is a doozy…

At this point, our hapless hero Tate is doing a piss-poor job of accepting he’s been dumped. His friend Ryan talks him into going to a party where things might be looking up…

Ryan drags me to the kitchen.

“Tate, meet Shannon,” he says. She’s barely five feet of short skirt, tight shirt, and curly red hair.

“Nice to meet you,” I say, extending my hand. She shakes it, grinning wide.

“You too. He’s adorable,” she says to Ryan.

Ryan shrugs. “Yeah, if you’re into nerds.”

“Which I am. Why else do you think we dated?”

“That hurts. I thought you wanted me for my body.” Ryan laughs as Shannon’s eyes roll. “My job’s done here. Shan, take care of my friend,” he says, backing out of the room.

She gets beer from the fridge. Her fingers brush mine as she hands one over. Her nails are bitten to nothing. She pops the can open and chokes on a huge pull.

“God, I’m a mess. Killer first impression, right?” she says, wiping her chin.

“No worries. You’re doing fine.”

“Cute, polite, and sweet? Wow. It’s like finding a unicorn.”

She puts the beer down and gets close. She smells like cloves and sugar cookies. The way she looks at me, like only one person’s done my entire life, pops beads of sweat on my forehead.

“God, Shannon. Whore much?” The girl in the doorway looks pissed. She’s got the longest hair I’ve ever seen, a big, messy braid sweeping past her butt. Shannon sighs and backs off. Big Braid turns to me. “Not that it matters, but who are you?”

“Nobody,” I say.

“Get lost, Nobody. My friend’s slutty when she drinks and there’s at least four exes here who’ll kick your ass just for looking at her.”

“Not that it’s your business, but Ryan introduced us. And where do you get off calling me slutty? You look like you just got fucked.” Shannon takes my hand. “Forget her. Let’s get lost together.”

 

5 thoughts on “Bootcamp: Walk the Plank”

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

