What’s Up Wednesday

whatsupwednesday

To see what other WUW writers are up to, click here.

WHAT I’M READING

Nothing! And it’s killing me. I’m not allowing myself the pleasure of digging into the TBR pile until I hit these writing goals. I finished Julie Murphy’s SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY last week and I’m barely recovered from a wicked bout of author envy. On deck: P.E. Ryan’s SAINTS OF AUGUSTINE.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Fueled by WIP playlists, reverse writing happy hours, and the gentle pressure nudging of Team Defiance, I’m nearly to the 40,000 word mark on PLEASE STAND BY. I tried my hand at a bit of plotting by writing some notes on what the next few scenes should look like. Or better yet, where they should take me. I’ve hit the messy middle where I know where I need to be but have no clue how to get there.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Not this weather for sure. Snow in darn-near April?! Winter, don’t let me catch you in a dark alley! You’ve got an ass-kicking coming.

But keeping it positive, I’m getting a much-needed spirit lift from everyone participating in the YA Buccaneers Spring Bootcamp. All day long when I’m watching my work Twitter feed, I’m also keeping an eye on the #YABBootcamp thread. I see y’all out there sneaking in words during your lunch breaks, or while your kids are sleeping, or before the sunrise, or while you’re waiting on dinner to cook, or during your daily commute. Don’t give up!

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Prepping for a week-long work conference, drinking way too much caffeine, trying to become a one-woman twerk team, and wondering why there’s no Thin Mints in my house.

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. Mmm…thin mints, I was just wondering a similar thing the other day after I saw a commercial for Girl Scout coffee creamer. Weird, I always seem to be commenting about food to you 🙂

    Woo hoo to the almost 40k mark!!!

    Like

  2. We’ve been pummelled by snow again too. Bleh. So over it.

    Wow, going without reading until you hit writing goals is actually a pretty great idea. That would be so hard to do! But I suppose that will really push you to meet those goals. Best of luck with that, Adrianne! (SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY sounds really good, so that’s awesome motivation!)

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

