What’s Up Wednesday

whatsupwednesday2

To see what other WUW writers are up to, click here

WHAT I’M READING

Julie Murphy’s SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY. I’m torn between wanting to read it all in one fell swoop (because it’s THAT GOOD) and slowing down so it won’t end (because it’s THAT GOOD).  I also scored Terra Elan McVoy’s CRIMINAL, E. Lockhart’s THE TREASURE MAP OF BOYS, and Katie Alender’s MARIE ANTOINETTE, SERIAL KILLER at Half-Price Books. To the TBR pile!

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m sloooowly adding words to PLEASE STAND BY. The YA Buccaneers’ Spring Writing Bootcamp is providing tons of inspiration and support (GO TEAM DEFIANCE!) and the added pressure of accountability. Eep.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

This past weekend, I went to Texas to visit my sister and brother-in-law. For some reason, I was geographically challenged and thought Julie Murphy’s book launch for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY was at a library four hours away from my sister’s town. I’ve never been so glad to be wrong! It was amazing seeing so much support and excitement for a debut author. Julie’s remarks were heartfelt and touching, and she was so sweet and kind to everyone. Is it weird to feel proud of someone you’d never met? Weird or not, that’s the feeling I get every time I see someone’s dreams coming true. So thanks to Irving Public Library, everyone I met that day, and my sister, brother-in-law, and husband for putting up with my fangirling.

Julie recognized me AND hugged me. Twice. Day made!
Julie recognized me AND hugged me. Twice. Day made!

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Enjoying the quiet time at work (yayyy spring break!), perfecting my clam and pasta soup, tackling an overgrown chore list, and getting back into consistent exercising.

1 thought on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. That’s so cool you got to attend Julie Murphy’s book launch practically by accident! Sounds like it was a fun event! I’ve been trying to get back into consistent exercise lately too, seeing as it’s been way too long since I dragged myself onto the treadmill. I’d rather be writing though! Good luck to your team in the Spring Bootcamp, and I hope those words flow this week!

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

