Writer Recharge Update 1

Writer Recharge

Details about the month-long writing kick-in-the-pants here.

Last week was so hard. If you follow me on Twitter, you may know that my first cousin was murdered on February 1. I don’t have enough words to describe how I’m feeling. Just know that I really appreciate the kindness and support that’s come my way. We paid our final respects to her this past Saturday. On Sunday we learned the police had arrested one of the suspects. It’s hard for so many reasons, and brings back all the memories and emotions surrounding another cousin’s murder many years ago, but I’m glad that I’m not in this alone. So huge, huge thanks.

As always, writing helps. I achieved my goal of putting words down every day, even if it was just a sentence or two. I have 18 days to complete the first draft of THINGS WE SHOULD HAVE SAID and strangely enough, the deadline isn’t worrying me. It’s super-motivating! As for my twice-weekly blogging, I only updated this blog once, but that’s because this past weekend was crazy hectic. But here it is the start of a new week and I’ve already posted, so I’m halfway there!

This Week’s Goals

  • Post on this blog twice.
  • Reach 50,000 words on WIP
  • Write every day

And in the spirit of accountability, here’s a tiny bit of THINGS WE SHOULD HAVE SAID from Tate’s POV.

I take care of business in the bathroom and get back in bed. I kiss Leah’s cheek and snuggle up.

“Get off. You know I don’t cuddle,” she says. She frowns, all fake-mad. I tickle her belly. She squirms and squeals and it’s so cutesy and girly, I melt.

“God, I love this. I love you.” She stops laughing. Her eyes go wide. She pushes me away.

“Why would you do that?”

“Do what?”

“Ruin it.”

16 thoughts on “Writer Recharge Update 1”

  1. Sorry for your loss. Happy that you have a support system in place to help. I’m trying to finish one of my WIPS by May…here’s to us both accomplishing our goals! I really liked the excerpt!

    Like

  2. Ohmygoodness – I am so sorry to hear what happened to your cousin. That’s horrible. Absolutely awful. My thoughts and prayers are with you. And I understand the comfort writing can bring. I hope this week is a better one for you.

    PS – I LOVED the excerpt! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry for your loss. I don’t really know what to say, but please take care of yourself. I’ll keep you and your family in my thoughts. The fact that you’re getting words down each day is pretty amazing–you’ve inspired me to go put down some words of my own.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

