What’s Up Wednesday

KITERUFFLED2

To see what other WUW writers are up to, click here

WHAT I’M READING

I was a few chapters into Abigail Haas’ DANGEROUS GIRLS when I had to stop. I’m just not in the right headspace to read about murders. So I turned to an ARC of Elizabeth Eulberg’s BETTER OFF FRIENDS which so far has enough sweet, angsty romance to lift my spirits.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’ve given myself until the end of February to finish drafting THINGS WE SHOULD HAVE SAID. It’s  been the biggest challenge ever to write dual POV and because it’s scary, I’ve been avoiding it, which is a huge no-no. So even if it’s craptastic, it will be finished. I can fix it in revisions. And speaking of, the lovely and talented Sara Biren gave the first 30 pages of PLEASE STAND BY a looky-loo. I’m super impressed with her generous, thoughtful feedback and her editing skills. So huge thanks to Sara for getting me excited about revisions again!

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Anyone who displays resilience and strength during tough times gets my kudos this week. Sometimes it’s hard being the shoulder for others to lean on when you’re feeling weak. Conversely, it’s hard to ask for a shoulder to lean on when you’re normally the rock. Both actions take a great deal of strength and fortitude.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I recently joined the Writer Recharge Challenge hosted and cheerled by the aforementioned Sara Biren, Katy Upperman, Alison Miller, Liz Parker, and Elodie Nowodazkij. This month-long challenge is right on time. I pinky-swear to accomplish the following:

  • Complete first draft of THINGS WE SHOULD HAVE SAID by February 28.
  • Find time to write every day, no matter what.
  • Update this blog at least 2x per week.

Writer Recharge

11 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. I agree wholeheartedly that avoiding writing because it’s tough is a no-no. And yet…that’s where I find myself. O_o It’s so hard to get past those things sometimes, but so important. Good luck, Adrianne!

    Like

  2. Beta readers and critique partners are truly a gift. I’m grateful for everyone who has commented thoughtfully on my drafts. It’s gut-wrenching and exciting to get pages back from someone!

    Also, I totally understand about not being in the mood to read murders. There are certain genres and authors I have to be in the “mood” for. Dystopian is one of them, for some reason.

    Like

      1. Yeah…I like dystopian, but since the genre itself tells me so much about what to expect, it’s hard to go into it expecting something new…It’s a mental block, I guess. Wellll that and I’ve read dystopian that simplifies the political situation beyond where I can suspend disbelief. Maybe it’s because it was the “hot” genre for a while, so there were so many dystopian novels out, all of varying quality, so I never knew what I was going to get.

        Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

