YA Superlatives Blogfest: Best in Show

superlatives-banner

The YA Superlatives Blogfest is hosted by Tracy NeithercottKaty UppermanJessica Love, and Alison Miller. Check out my picks for the Head of the Class, Popularity Contest, and Elements of Fiction categories. For the final day of the blogfest, it’s time to celebrate the best of the best.

FAVORITE COVER

dear life you suckuses for boysseptember girls

I couldn’t pick just one!

CUTEST COUPLE

the book of broken hearts

Jude and Emilio gave me all the swoons. Their journey together was so thoughtful and touching.

MOST LIKELY TO SUCCEED
(OR, PICK A PRINTZ WINNER)

uses for boys

I have no clue of the criteria for such awards but I’d put this book in the running. It’s definitely one of the best I read this year.

MOST LIKELY TO MAKE YOU MISS YOUR BEDTIME 
(BOOK YOU JUST COULDN’T PUT DOWN)

not a drop to drink

Total hours of sleep lost: 3.

BEST REPEAT PERFORMANCE
(YOUR FAVORITE SEQUEL OR FOLLOW-UP)

siege and storm

The sequel to SHADOW AND BONE is the literary equivalent of “The Empire Strikes Back” or “The Godfather Part Two”, surpassing it’s predecessor in practically every way.

FAVORITE FINALE OR END OF SERIES NOVEL

Dear Marie Lu, thank you for proving that series endings don’t have to suck. Sincerely, Me.

ROMANCE MOST WORTHY OF AN ICE BATH

unteachable

Despite the taboo premise (teacher/student relationship) I can’t deny that Raeder made me clutch my pearls more than once.

BREAKOUT NOVEL
(YOUR FAVORITE BOOK BY A DEBUT AUTHOR)

uses for boys

I really wish I could put this one in every category. All the applause!

BEST OLD-TIMER
(YOUR FAVORITE READ OF THE YEAR, PUBLISHED BEFORE 2013)
the lone ranger and tonto fistfight in heaven
This book inspired one of my favorite movies, “Smoke Signals” and is twenty-two interwoven tales of pure awesomeness.
BOOK MOST LIKELY TO MAKE A GROWN MAN CRY
reality boy
No matter the gender, this one should have you flailing for the box of tissues.
MOST PLEASANT SURPRISE
(BEST BOOK YOU DIDN’T THINK YOU’D LIKE, BUT TOTALLY DID)
the coldest girl in coldtown
I was all, “Dear Sweet Baby Jeebus, don’t make me read another vampire story” but this book is one of the most unique takes on that mythology I’ve ever read.
MOST CREATIVE USE OF A LOVE TRIANGLE
all our yesterdays
Gah! My attempts at effective love triangles pale in comparison. Well played, Ms. Terrill. Well played.
SLEEPER HIT
(BOOK YOU FOUND SO AWESOME YOU WISH IT HAD BEEN HYPED MORE) 
uses for boys
Would y’all just read this book already?
FAVORITE OUTLIER
(YOUR FAVORITE MIDDLE GRADE OR ADULT 2013 BOOK)
better nate than ever
Cheers for middle grade! My inner theatre nerd so appreciated this one.
MY CATEGORY: MOST LIKELY TO MAKE ME GIVE UP WRITING
eleanor & park uses for boys
These books are so flipping amazing that I want to rend my garments in despair. If anything I write is even .000000001% as good, I’ll be satisfied.
2 thoughts on “YA Superlatives Blogfest: Best in Show”

    1. I rec that book as much as possible, as you can see from my year-end lists. 🙂 It really got dragged to hell on Goodreads and it was dismaying to see so many hateful comments from women especially. But I know what a book like that may mean to a young person and I’m grateful it’s in the world.

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

