YA Superlatives Blogfest: Elements of Fiction

superlatives-banner

The YA Superlatives Blogfest is hosted by Tracy NeithercottKaty UppermanJessica Love, and Alison Miller. Day 1 paid homage to the Head of the Class. Day 2 was a total Popularity Contest. Today is all about who has the skills to pay the bills.

MOST ENVY-INDUCING PLOT
(THE PLOT YOU WISH YOU’D THOUGHT OF YOURSELF)

siege and stormHonestly, any sci-fi, dystopian or Tolkienesque book could go here. I’m consistently jealous of the massive plotting and world-building it takes to pull these stories off. This series has me hooked.

MOST FORMIDABLE WORLD
(THE SETTING YOU WOULD DEFINITELY NOT WANT TO VISIT)
the end gamesThis is one of those disturbing stories where the human monsters are almost more terrifying than the inhuman ones. There’s NO WAY I’d make it in this environment.

WANDERLUST INDUCING
(THE SETTING YOU’D HAPPILY TRAVEL TO)

just one year

Willem literally searches all over the world for the girl that he just can’t get off his mind. There was no where he wouldn’t go for the possibility of finding love and I was happy to be along for the ride.

LOVELIEST PROSE

picture me gone

By not using quotation marks for dialogue, you’re dropped right into the MC’s thoughts, feelings and observations. In the wrong hands it could come off like a gimmick but in this case the end result is thoughtful and haunting.

BEST FIRST LINE

when you were hereWhen someone you love has died, there is a certain grace period during which you can get away with murder.

MOST DYNAMIC MAIN CHARACTER

forgive me leonard peacock

Leonard Peacock infiltrated my brain.  I can’t say too much more because spoilers but just when I thought I had him figured out, another layer was revealed.

MOST JAW-DROPPING ENDING

all our yesterdays

BEST PERFORMANCE IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

the moon and moreEmaline’s kooky and loving mother, stepfather, and sisters almost steal the show.

BEST USE OF THEME

him me them and itThis was a near sob-inducing exploration of denial, reinvention, family, and consequences.

5 thoughts on “YA Superlatives Blogfest: Elements of Fiction”

  1. I *almost* put SIEGE AND STORM for envy inducing plot. There is very little about that book that I did not totally love/wish i had written/want more of. I had forgotten about reading ALL OUR YESTERDAYS, but the superlatives has reminded me. I actually grabbed it at my library today. So happy! Love your pick for best first line. Very hooky.

    Like

  2. You know, you’re so right about your envy-inducing plot choice. I have to agree with you that book that requires that much world-building is definitely to be envied! I keep thinking that I’d like to try my hand at writing fantasy, but I’m kind of chicken about all the crazy world-building. It’s funny, but I totally can’t remember exactly how ALL OUR YESTERDAYS ended. Hmm…might have to take a peek at it again.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

