YA Superlatives Blogfest: Popularity Contest

superlatives-banner

The YA Superlatives Blogfest is hosted by Tracy NeithercottKaty UppermanJessica Love, and Alison Miller. Like I really need an excuse to gush about all of the awesome YA I read this year but I appreciate it anyway. Day 1 featured the novels that rose to the Head of the Class. Today is all about who rules the school.

CLASS CLOWN 

winger

Like most jokesters, Ryan Dean West uses his sharp wit to hide how hurt he is inside.  Truly the tears of a clown!

MOST LIKELY TO BE A ROCKSTAR

eleanor & park

Park’s taste in music is flawless. I can totally picture him all grown up and making everybody swoon on Total Request Live.

MOST LIKELY TO START A RIOT

not a drop to drinkLynn scared me, y’all. If I was in her world, I’d drink my cat’s pee before attempting to violate her pond. She was that serious about it.

BIGGEST FLIRT

the distance between us

I’ve crushed on the name Xander since the days of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, so it didn’t take much for me to like Kasie West’s Xander. But his charm, confidence, and swoony flirt-speak doesn’t hurt either.

FASHION KING OR QUEEN

just one dayI need a style maven like Dee in my life. Does anyone want the job?

CHARACTER YOU’D MOST WANT FOR YOUR BFF

uses for boys

Sure, Anna has some issues but she’s tough on the outside and gooey-soft on the inside, sort of like me. Plus she would accept me without judgment and who wouldn’t want that in a best friend?

CHARACTER YOU WISH YOU’D DATED IN HIGH SCHOOL

the dream thieves

Maggie Stiefvater has a knack for concocting boys that would have had me at at “Hey, girl” and Adam is no exception.

MOST LIKELY TO BECOME PRESIDENT

fangirl

I think Cath would win in a landslide, especially if she mobilized her Simon Snow fandom.

QUIRKIEST CHARACTER

thousand words

Mack is straight up odd. He’s burly and scruffy, rarely talks, barely acknowledges the outside world, and eerily observant. From his first appearance, I was intrigued.

VILLAIN YOU LOVE TO HATE

all our yesterdays

I wanted to hate the doctor. I really, really did. But I ended up empathizing despite my best intentions. And while I don’t condone what the doctor did, I definitely understand.

FAVORITE PARENTAL FIGURE

the theory of everything

At first, I gave Roy the side-eye for being creepy but he ultimately plays a key role in helping the main character process her grief and learn to accept the twists and turns that life brings.

COOLEST NERD

the summer i became a nerd

This is a tie between Maddie and Logan, both of whom embody all that is nerdtastic in their own unique ways.

11 thoughts on “YA Superlatives Blogfest: Popularity Contest”

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

