What’s Up Wednesday

WUW Winter Holly 1

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly blog hop hosted by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. Check out the links on their pages to see what other writers are doing.

What I’m Reading

I stayed up until two a.m. reading Leigh Ann Kopans’ SOLVING FOR EX under my covers with a flashlight (so as not to disturb The Roommate). Yes, I know it doesn’t release until February 2014. Yes, I know I’m a lucky girl to get a signed ARC from Leigh Ann. Yes, I’m lucky to have read such an amazing novel. Plucky characters, awesome voice, messy entanglements, and swoonworthy moments. Put it on your to-read list for sure.

What I’m Writing

I just wrapped NaNoWrimo (52,000+ words) and I took a few days off to recover. But taking too much time off from writing makes me stabby so I’ve been revising HANDS OFF, a young adult contemporary with a dash of magical realism, and drafting THINGS WE SHOULD HAVE SAID, a young adult contemporary romance. All of which dovetails into my Insecure Writer’s Support Group obsessive thought for the month which is WHEN WILL I ACTUALLY FINISH SOMETHING? WHEN, O LORD, WHEN? I’m starting to annoy myself.  Revisions are necessary for sure but I have a feeling some good old fashioned fear is creeping in here. I need to let some of this work go. Give it up, turn it loose!

What Inspires Me Right Now

The Roommate, who has accomplished so much and is all-around awesome but way too polite and self-effacing to say so himself. The nonprofit work he did last year in Kansas City, Kansas resulted in some wonderful improvements for the neighborhood he lived in as a kid and tomorrow he’ll be celebrating one of those projects, the opening of a grocery store. This is a huge deal in a neighborhood that was considered a food desert.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Celebrating a birthday (December 3), baking my first pumpkin pie, plotting on spring vacations, and prepping for Christmas.

14 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. Congratulations on finishing your NaNoWriMo project! I know how it can feel to always be revising. CPs, I find, are always helpful in telling me whether or not the project is ready to go or not. It sounds like your roomie did a lot of good. KCK is lucky to have his help 🙂

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

