What’s Up Wednesday

what's up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme brought to you by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. Make sure you check out what the other participating authors are up to.

What I’m Reading

Still making my way through Barry Lyga’s GAME. It’s sooo good!

What I’m Writing

It is a serious world of fail right now.  Okay, that’s a tad dramatic. But that’s what it feels like. The Day Job’s super-busy and by the time I get home my brain is tired and I’m struggling to find the words. I added a bunch,  all of which felt crappy coming out. But hey, at least they’re on the page. And I did finish my synopsis but it was a painful process. So this week, in order to not go completely insane, my only Ready. Set. Write! goal is to put something on the page every day.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Art.  I work in an art museum and one of the big misconceptions is that we have time to look at the art whenever we want. But today my brain was feeling a bit crispy so I took a stroll through the galleries. It was awesome.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I’ve been spending a lot of time with family which is great. Other than that, it’s just work and hanging out with The Roommate. Yay for Roomie time!

16 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. Ugh. I know the melting-brain feeling after a long work-day. I keep reminding myself that this is a first draft, and what I write is allowed to suck. Just keep writing! Words on the page every day is a great goal. 🙂

    Like

  2. Writing synopses IS a painful process, and one I will continue to grumble about until agents stop requiring them. 🙂 If you can put something on the page every day, especially in the midst of a busy work schedule, you’re doing well, Adrianne.

    All the best with your writing this week. 🙂

    Like

  3. I think putting words down is a great goal, too. Sometimes that’s just what is needed. That frustrating spiral of not writing because what you’re thinking is “good” at that moment is no fun. Much better to get something down and devote more time to it when you’re fresh!

    Like

  4. I think your goals for the week sound GREAT! I am all for just getting it down on the page and then fixing it up later. If you haven’t read BIRD BY BIRD yet, I highly recommend it. Anne LaMotte is a huge proponent of crappy first drafts. 🙂

    Have a great week!

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

