What’s Up Wednesday

what's up wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme brought to you by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. Check out the links to see what other authors are up to.

What I’m Reading

I just finished Susane Colasanti’s KEEP HOLDING ON. It was chock-full of complicated, uncomfortable issues but it didn’t read like a heavy “issue” book, if that makes any sense. The romance subplot felt a bit tacked-on but it made me smile anyway, mostly because I was so thrilled something good was happening to the MC.

What I’m Writing

I’ve been prepping for July’s Camp NaNoWriMo. The plan was to add some more words to PLEASE STAND BY but of course that’s when a new character decided to make her presence known.

I think I have see where this one takes me.

I also joined up with the Ready. Set. Write! crew so here’s my goals for the past week :

Wednesday, June 19
Revise one chapter of PLEASE STAND BY – done

Thursday, June 20:
Add 500 words to short story – added 341

Friday, June 21
Revise query letter for HAPPENS FOR A REASON – done

Saturday, June 22
Update agent list – done 

Sunday, June 23
Pre-query freak out – done, done, done 

Monday, June 24
Day off

Tuesday, June 25
Decide which mothballed WIP to revisit – done (why hello there, stranger)

What Inspires Me Right Now

Texas State Senator Leticia “Mic Drop” Van De Putte. During last night’s epic filibuster against the SB5 Bill, Van De Putte suffered nary a fool. She arrived at the session after attending her father’s funeral and quickly let it be known that not only does she honor her civic duty despite great hardship but she’s not above serving up a verbal smackdown when required.

sb5

sb5 2

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Trying to make it through this query process without losing my mind. Also looking forward to some time off over the July 4th holiday. Cheers to vacation!

15 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. I wanted to hug Ms. Leticia!

    I do understand that prequery freak out. I think I did that for DAYS with my last manuscript. I’ll hopefully join you in the next couple of months….my heart rate picked up just writing that.

    Good luck with your goals for the rest of this week!!

    Like

  2. The senator IS inspiring! And sounds like you had a very productive week! Good luck this week in meeting your goals!

    Like

  3. I watched that clip of Leticia Van De Putte. The cheers she received were fantastic. What an inspiration!

    Congratulations on hitting all your goals! Good luck with the upcoming week! And have fun getting to know your new character too. She sounds fantastic!

    Like

    1. I was watching the live feed and shouted right along with them. Amazing!

      Thanks for the support. I have no clue what this character’s going to say next but I like what I’ve heard so far.

      Like

  4. Haha, I know the feeling, I had a character who was already in my WIP want to be a bigger character…worked out in the end so I’m sure she’ll add some spunk & humor, it seems to your WIP! Good luck with your writing goals 🙂

    Also Van De Putte is a boss (as is Wendy Davis)

    Like

  5. I love the tweets you shared… Your new character sounds fantastic! Best of luck meeting all of your writing goals in the coming week. Sounds like you have plenty to keep you busy. 🙂

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

