What’s Up Wednesday

what's up wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme brought to you by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk.  Let’s do this!

What I’m Reading

I was late to work today because I was so engrossed in Kat Rosenfield’s AMELIA ANNE IS DEAD AND GONEI finished the last few pages in the public library parking lot. Seriously unputdownable.

What I’m Writing

My first serious attempt at a short story. So far it’s about an larger-than-life girl in an postage-stamp-sized town. I need to decide whether or not I’m making that my July Camp NaNoWriMo project or if I want to revisit some of my mothballed WIPs.

What Inspires Me Right Now

It’s Juneteenth, the yearly celebration of abolishing slavery in the United States. I’m inspired by the amazing stories of struggle, perserverance, and triumph of recently-freed slaves who headed out into the Great Plains to make new lives for themselves, particularly the Exodusters who settled in Kansas colonies such as Dunlap and Nicodemus.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Speaking of the public library, today I got paid for making art and hanging out with cool kids. In a collaboration with a local teen librarian, I organized a two-hour printmaking workshop for 7th-12th graders. My two loves (art and books) mashed up in the most brilliant way. I also brought along some art students who work with me at K-State. Everybody had a great time and we can’t wait to do it again.

Teens kicking ass at printmaking. Personal photo by Adrianne Russell.
18 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday”

  1. Sounds like you have a very productive week. Congrats. Cool title on the book you read “AMELIA ANNE IS DEAD AND GONE”. The title alone holds all kinds of drama. I’ll have to keep that one in mind.

    Your short story sounds like it has major humor potential. Best of luck!

    Like

  2. ZOMG– you’re a printmaker? Me, too! I have a book club for middle-graders at my local elementary school and we always do prints for the books we read. It is so much fun (for me) and the kids love it. I also love your description of a larger than life girl in a postage-stamp sized town. Brilliant.

    Like

    1. I’m a beginning printmaker but I love it so much. It’s one of my favorite ways of artmaking. I also do a lot of silkscreening to make t-shirts. I was lucky to have printmaking college students there as real experts to back me up. 😉 Thanks for the compliment on my story description!

      Like

  3. I’ve been hearing such great things about AMELIA ANNE IS DEAD AND GONE, and for so long now too. I really should just get around to reading it. I love the description for your short story about a larger-than-life girl in a postage stamp-sized town. That’s awesome! 🙂

    Like

  4. That art work looks like a lot of fun! And looks pretty awesome too! Also, I read AMELIA ANNE last summer and you are correct! Unputdownable!

    Good luck with whatever you choose to work on this week! Love this: “mothballed WiPs” I have a few of those!

    Like

  5. Reading about people escaping slavery never fails to amaze me. The sheer feats of endurance and courage are nothing but inspiring.

    Being paid to do the thing you love must feel amazing. I can’t wait for the day I get to do that.

    Like

    1. The stories are so inspiring. It definitely teaches me a lesson in resilience. It is nice to finally have the things I enjoy and my means of earning a living be the same. It’s been a long time coming!

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

