Armchair BEA: Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction

paul gaugin's armchair
Vincent van Gogh, Paul Gaugin’s Armchair, 1888, via Wikimedia Commons

I have a not-so-secret love for non-fiction. It’s where I explore history, travel to distant lands, and learn that people have done some really, really weird sh*t.

Some of my favorites:

Eric Schlosser’s FAST FOOD NATION forced me to re-evaluate my relationship with food and I’ll never look at a value meal the same way again.

In his biography, BLACK BOY, Richard Wright transported me to a not-so-distant past where being a mischievous, curious, bull-headed black boy growing up in the South was a dangerous thing.

Mary Roach’s STIFF: THE CURIOUS LIVES OF  HUMAN CADAVERS was equal parts fascinating, disgusting, and uplifting, offering a no-holds-barred view of what happens to a body that’s been donated to science.

nonfiction collage

armchairbea21

Armchair BEA is an online conference for those who can’t attend Book Expo America in New York City. Check the Armchair BEA site for book blogger posts, giveaways, and info on what’s happening at BEA.  

11 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction”

  1. I’ve heard of Fast Food Nation and the Richard Wright book but not the other. I used to read nonfiction but not so much anymore. I guess I just watch the Discovery channel or History Channel…that is so bad to admit.

    Like

    1. Oh don’t feel bad! I watch tons of Discovery, History Channel, and H2! But what I try to do is make note of any books or authors mentioned on the shows and check them out too.

      Like

  2. People do weird sh*t indeed! I love your title for this post, it’s so true!

    I love nonfiction, you couldn’t make some of this stuff up. People and events are so much more bizarre than we know 😉

    Fast Food Nation…wow, what a book! That read changed me forever. I’ve always meant to get to any of Roach’s books. One of these days.

    Happy reading!

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

