Armchair BEA: Building Better Bloggers

Hutin_Woman_in_an_armchair
Charles-François Hutin, Woman in an Armchair, 1750s, via Wikimedia Commons

The BEA Bloggers Conference is underway today in New York City with sessions covering topics like platform, finding your niche, ethics, and insidery info from editors and social media gurus, PLUS great swag! Everything to make your blogging truly awesome, right?

*tamps down jealous rage*

But just because we’re not there doesn’t mean we can’t benefit as well. Today Armchair BEA asks, “What have you done to get better as a blogger…and what do you want to do?”

I’ll admit I tumbled headfirst into this writing/book blogging world. I followed a lot of book bloggers and was amazed at how much hard work they put into it: giveaways, interviews, multiple reviews per week, etc. I love that kind of hustle. I just knew it wasn’t for me.

Not that I’m lazy (much) but with work and family and writing and reading and sleep, I knew time was limited so one of the best things I did was set a schedule to post three times per week. It gives me structure by allowing me to plan posts in advance but also flexibility in case something gets me so excited that I want to post every day about it (like Armchair BEA for example).

Another thing that saves my blogger bacon is blogfests. Coming up with engaging topics on a regular basis is challenging.  And while I’m not above rambling, knowing what you’re going to write about alleviates posting pressure. There are tons of them out there but some of my favorites are Alex J. Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writer’s Support Group, YA Highway’s Road Trip Wednesday, and Top 10 Tuesday via The Broke and the Bookish (which I don’t contribute to but read devotedly).

Of course there’s always room for improvement. I enjoy sharing what I’m reading, so I want to post Bargain Bookshelf (my reviews of vintage YA novels scored from thrift stores) and other book reviews more regularly.  I’m also on the lookout for more blog tours so that I can pay the writerly love forward.

Most importantly, I need to stay mindful of the fact that I’m not going to get this blogging thing right 100% of the time. It’s okay to make mistakes, I just need to remember to learn from them.

armchairbea21

Armchair BEA is an online conference for those who can’t attend Book Expo America in New York City. Check the Armchair BEA site for book blogger posts, giveaways, and info on what’s happening at BEA.  

15 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Building Better Bloggers”

  1. Thanks for sharing what you are doing. I like the idea of Top Ten Tuesday. I will have to check it out. The Bargain Bookshelf is also intriguing. I always have a stack of bargains I have picked up, but I haven’t really thought of utilizing those on the blog. I really want to nail down a schedule for my blogging and 3 times a week is definitely doable. My posting has been really random because I haven’t really sat down and thought it through. Thanks for giving me more to think about! 🙂

    Like

  2. I think three times a week is a lot. I post only when I get around to reviewing and think I have something to say. Sometimes that’s three times a month. I admire those who do more.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

