Road Trip Wednesday: The One That Got Away

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question. This Week’s Topic: What book is your ‘one that got away?’ (What book have you always been dying to read but still haven’t yet?)

anne of green gablesL.M. Montgomery’s ANNE OF GREEN GABLES. I’ve always wanted to read it and for some reason never have. It doesn’t make sense, especially considering how much I adored the 1980s TV adaptation. Maybe it’s my affection for spunky, red-headed orphaned girls named some variation of Anne, but I love a good underdog story and this one fits the bill. I’m definitely pushing it to the top of my to-read list.

What books have you been meaning to read? 

11 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: The One That Got Away”

  1. The list of books that I’ve been meaning to read is soooo huge. But the first that come to mind at The End Games by T. Michael Martin, Eleanor & Park, the Forest of Hands & Teeth trilogy by Carrie Ryan, 17 & Gone by Nova Ren Suma, The Maze Runner, the Book Thief … yeah, the list goes on and on.

    Like

  2. I owned that book for years as a kid and never read it. I’m not sure why, it just never quite appealed to me.

    SENSE AND SENSIBILITY is one of mine. I read P&P recently and have been waiting for the right moment to dive into it.

    Like

  3. Here’s my thoughts about classic books: They are like the guy friend who wants to be “more than friends” and you’ve thought about it, but there’s something about him— oh yes, he’s attainable. Human nature compels us to chase after the unattainable, like our dreams and the guy who doesn’t give a !@#$ and doesn’t even know we exist. We don’t want what we can have. Plus, nobody talks about the classics; it’s all about the latest best seller.

    THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO is mine. I love the plot and storyline, but am always picking another book to read instead.

    Like

    1. Wuthering Heights is a tough read. It took me three tries before I could sit down and finish it. I hate to say this, but I’ve watched two different adaptions for screen and one for television and they’re all better the book. Wow, that was hard to admit… I normally side with the books.

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

