WIP Sneek Peek

Who hasn’t looked at her blog in over a week?

But it’s for good reasons. Work’s been busy (hey, This Girl’s gotta eat) and I’ve been writing ALL THE WORDS. Technically, I’ve been killing lots of words then writing new ones, but you get the point.

So it’s very appropriate that my first post after an unintentional hiatus is a glimpse into one of my WIPs. Thanks to the fantabulous Brooks Benjamin who tagged me for this bloghop!

What is the title of your book?

HAPPENS FOR A REASON a.k.a. The Novel Formerly Known as ‘TIL IT HAPPENS TO YOU.

Where did the idea come from?

I was discussing reality tv dating shows world affairs with a friend and she asked, “What do you wish you’d known before you fell in love for the first time?” My first love story is a convoluted one, parts of which I’m still processing all these years later. While I don’t regret any of it because it’s made me who I am now, I wish I’d realized how much control I had, that I wasn’t helpless, that I had choices. So the day after that conversation, I was reading and listening to music and “‘Til It Happens to You”, Corinne Bailey Rae’s song about first-love lessons, shuffled onto my iPod. After the first few bars, I heard a voice say, “This might have been okay before he felt my boobs but not now.” And thus my MC, Fischer, barged into my brain.

What genre does your book fall under?

Young Adult Contemporary.

What actors would you pick to play the parts?

This is the weird thing. I’m a casting director’s nightmare. I don’t always know exactly what my characters look like. When I write, usually only a few details about them surface for me. It’s always been more interesting for me to let readers fill in the blanks. But here’s what I know about Fischer: She’s 5’9″ tall, has a slight gap between her two front teeth, tan skin, and short brown hair. She’s thinner than some and fatter than others. 

What is a one sentence synopsis of your book?

Gah, I suck at these. Seriously. This is especially challenging since this book is undergoing an Extreme Makeover. But here’s what I have so far:

A teenaged girl trades her loner status for a no-strings hookup, accidentally falls in love, intentionally implodes her parents’ marriage, and discovers who she’s meant to be.

Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

None of the above! I’m planning to query it once I’m finished but the possibility of self-publishing is pretty exciting too.

How long did it take you to write the first draft?

The first draft took about three months, the biggest chunk written during NaNoWriMo. As expected, it was a hot mess. But having been rewritten a few times since then, I’m glad to say it’s finally becoming something I’m proud of.

What other books would you compare your story to in your genre?

Comps are tricky. I don’t presume my writing’s as good as my idols but I feel like the authorly vibes of Courtney Summers, Jay Asher, Sara Zarr, Jennifer Echols, and Norma Klein swirl around me as I write.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The Roommate’s been cheering me on the entire time. I’m really grateful and lucky to have a creative spouse who understands that when I hear voices in my head, it’s actually a good thing.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Fischer drinks with her mother, hates her father, and dates two boys at once. What’s not to like?

fischerquote6

 

 

8 thoughts on “WIP Sneek Peek”

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

