WIP Extreme Makeover

With the exception of occasional word-dumpage into my new Ooh Shiny, I’ve put just about everything I have creatively into the WIP Extreme Makeover.

DIE, WORDS, DIE. Personal photo by Adrianne Russell.
DIE, WORDS, DIE! Personal photo by Adrianne Russell.

The Book Formerly Known As ‘TIL IT HAPPENS TO YOU is no more. Seriously. By the time I’ve finished this revision it will be mostly unrecognizable. I swear that’s a good thing!

As I’ve mentioned, it had good bones. I had a firm grasp on the main character’s voice (Yes, Fischer, we’re talking about you. Hush up now.) There was even plot involved, but it was ALL OVER THE PLACE. It’s like I’d forgotten that when you write out of order, eventually you have to go back and put things where they belong. Or get rid of them entirely.

Even after two revisions and some uplifting positive feedback, as painful as it was to admit, the story still wasn’t ready. I had two choices: trunk it or start rewriting. Ultimately, I couldn’t deal with completely giving up on it, especially when I knew it didn’t reflect my best work. 

So here’s where I could write some flowery prose about how this book is rising from the ashes like the mystical Phoenix–blah blah blah bore bore bore–but all you really need to know is I’m dismantling and reassembling this thing LIKE A BOSS. Besides, when I see the word “Phoenix” I think of the X-Men’s Jean Grey and we all know how badly things ended for her. Nobody needs that sort of mojo!

What I’ve done so far:

  • Changed the title to HAPPENS FOR A REASON
  • Revised 7 chapters
  • Killed 1 1/2 darlings
  • Consumed gallons of tea
  • Had several heated arguments with my Inner Editor
  • Written 2,146 new words
  • Hatched two plot ideas during middle-of-the-night trips to the bathroom
  • Blabbed all over Twitter about what I’m doing

Speaking of da Twitters, it’s been very helpful during this process. If you’re struggling creatively, I implore you to reach out to the awesome writing community there for generosity, commiseration, and good advice. For instance, when I got sick of seeing my words in black and white and started turning them into graphics (which I tweeted and boarded on Pinterest), the lovely and talented Emmy Benson suggested via Twitter that I give my MC her own hashtag. So smart, that one! Thus, #fischerquotes was born.

I'LL TRY NOT TO SPAM THE TWITTERVERSE WITH THESE, BUT I MAKE NO PROMISES.
I’LL TRY NOT TO SPAM THE TWITTERVERSE WITH THESE, BUT I MAKE NO PROMISES.

Thanks to everyone for your support, suggestions, and snark. I couldn’t do it without you!

6 thoughts on “WIP Extreme Makeover”

  1. Good luck with your Extreme Makeover! I’ve got one brewing myself. My only saving grace is that I only got about 35 pages into the MS before realizing I’ve got some major revamping to do on the plot itself!

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

