What Do You Do With a Drunken Writer?

Okay, so I’m not *technically* drunk, but getting an in-person dose of writerly inspiration, having one of my love scenes critiqued by an author that I really admire, making good progress on the WIP Extreme Makeover, and having a snow day has left me feeling pretty tipsy.

Although there’s lots of wine in my fridge right now (one of the perks of event planning) and the day’s not over yet, so anything can happen. 😀

Speaking of happening…

Tuesday night, I heard one of my favorite writers speak, Suzan-Lori Parks. Her writing gives me all the feels. I wept over her novel GETTING MOTHER’S BODY and the way she addressed brotherly relationships in her play TOPDOG/UNDERDOG made me want to shake my brothers silly for being so disconnected from each other. Her appearance was part talk/part performance as she recounted her path to writing, shared her love for serendipity, and encouraged us to embrace the weird.

So y’all know I have an irrational fear of meeting my author idols (I posted here about avoiding Maggie Stiefvater), but after seeing how warm and friendly Ms. Parks was to everyone following the event, I said eff it. How often would I get a chance like this? And like she mentioned in her talk, you have to be open to whatever comes your way. The Universe was screaming in my ear: GO SHAKE HER HAND, DUMMY!

So I did.

Me trying not to make a fool of myself. Suzan-Lori Parks being super cool.
Me trying not to get fangirl all over Suzan-Lori Parks.
14 thoughts on “What Do You Do With a Drunken Writer?”

  1. Aw! I got all fan girl on Laurie Halse Anderson at a conference. She came over to me when I was selling my book and we started talking about Touch of Death. After we talked, I got all nervous and said, “Can I shake your hand, please?” I felt like an idiot, but now I can say I shook the hand of an amazing author. 🙂

    Like

  2. I took my daughter to hear her speak at the 92nd Street Y and she was amazing! We weren’t able to stay to meet her, my daughter was only 8 or 9 at the time, but I so wish I had the chance to shake her hand.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

