En Revision

So…I’m revising.

*cue panic*

beaker panic

 I was so happy to have the first draft done.

And then I was all, “Where do I start?”

And then I started and I was all, “This totally sucks balls.”

And then I kept going and I was all, “This really doesn’t stink as much as I thought.”

And then I was four chapters in and I was all, “I don’t remember writing this but it rocks!”

Or something like that.

It’s hard to accurately describe the thought process. A writer’s mind is a crazy thing sometimes. Well, most of the time. At least in my case. As evidenced by this stream-of-consciousness blog post.

And per usual, another story idea popped into my head last night. But instead of abandoning my revisions, I told myself that if I finished the current chapter I could write some new story words as a reward. Amazingly, that worked!

So I’m glad that I’ve been able to keep to my revising schedule. At this rate, I should have the first pass done in a couple of weeks. Huzzah!

20 thoughts on “En Revision”

  1. Whew. I’m wrapping up my rough draft, and looking ahead at revisions. I love the moments where I’m like ‘Wow, this is pretty good.’ But the ‘WTF’ moments happen a lot with that rough draft! I like how you motivated your revising with writing.

    Like

  2. To use a cliche, revising is such an emotional roller coaster. Highs and lows all over the place!

    I’m balancing writing and editing too. My system is write before work and edit after work in the evenings. So far so good 😀

    Like

      1. I’ve had 2 and I’ll attest to the correctness of that analogy. Your finished book will be like one of your babies. See, I’m giving you room to write lots of books and to have lots of babies. 😉

        Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

