Road Trip Wednesday: 13 for 13

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question. This Week’s Topic: What are your goals for the new year—for reading, writing, or other?

I recently wrote about how I set goals, so this is a nice continuation of that topic. Rather than making a bunch of lofty resolutions that I have no possible way of achieving, I prefer to make commitments to myself, i.e. measurable, do-able, non-anxiety-generating goals.

Well, that’s not entirely true, I’m sure I’ll never be completely worry-free but that’s okay. Sometimes that nervous tickle in your stomach is a sign that something awesome’s about to happen.

My 13 writing- and reading-related commitments for 2013

  1. Finish the first draft of PLEASE STAND BY. [DONE]
  2. Join a professional writing association.
  3. Attend at least one writing conference. [DONE]
  4. Schedule at least one writing retreat. [DONE]
  5. Finish the second draft revisions for HAPPENS FOR A REASON. [DONE]
  6. Regularly maintain this blog. [DONE]
  7. Keep querying. [DONE]
  8. Enter at least one contest. [DONE]
  9. Submit at least one short story for publication.
  10. Stay connected with the writing community. [DONE]
  11. Read at least 30 books. [DONE]
  12. Finish the first draft of HANDS OFF. [DONE]
  13. Improve revision skills. [DONE]

I think that’s a pretty good start. How about y’all? Any goals for the new year?

18 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: 13 for 13”

  1. Those are great goals. This year I am making smaller monthly goals instead of big annual goals. For January I plan to re-plot a manuscript that died horribly last year and read at least one book per week. I have some other smaller ones, too. I think I’ll be more successful this way. Good luck with your commitments!

    Like

  2. Those are wonderful goals. I am mainly trying to read from the books on my shelves instead of something new, and to write a short story to see “how it goes”. I like that, The Year of Writing Fearlessly – best of luck to you!

    Like

  3. That’s a great start, Adrianne! I’m with you on revisions and short stories. I need to be a lot more prolific this year. I hope you meet your goals for 2013! 🙂

    Like

  4. I think you have a great list of goals, my main goals, in addition to writing everyday, which is number one, are to finish all my current WIPs (4) this year and to get an agent.

    Like

    1. I guess “get an agent” is a sub-set of “keep querying” since you can’t really get one without dong that part first. I’ve been working hard on improving my queries. I find them really challenging. Good luck to you!

      Like

  5. Sounds like a stellar winner year. Your goals seem doable and reasonable. I’ll be looking forward to the blogs that will accompany all of these events. What goes on at a writing retreat? Never been on one of those.

    Like

    1. Yes, because I definitely have to keep some accountability here. LOL I’ve never been to a writing retreat either. What I envision is a stretch of uninterrupted writing time in peaceful and inspirational surroundings. Even if I have to arrange it myself, I want to do that soooo badly.

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

