Road Trip Wednesday: November’s Best

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question. This Week’s Topic: What’s the Best Book You Read in November?

This was a slow month for me reading-wise. I can thank work travel, new job, unpacking and NaNoWriMo for that. However, I did manage to finish Lauren Strasnick’s NOTHING LIKE YOU. I’m giving it the prize not by default but because it was a kick-ass story.

From the jacket:

When Holly loses her virginity to Paul, a guy she barely knows, she assumes their encounter is a one-night stand. After all, Paul is too popular to even be speaking to Holly, and he happens to have a long-term girlfriend, Saskia. But ever since Holly’s mom died six months ago, Holly has been numb to the world, and she’s getting desperate to feel something, anything—so when Paul keeps pursuing her, Holly relents. Paul’s kisses are a welcome diversion, and it’s nice to feel like the kind of girl that a guy like Paul would choose.

But things aren’t so simple with Saskia around. Paul’s real girlfriend is willowy and perfect… and nothing like Holly. To make matters worse, she and Holly are becoming friends. Suddenly the consequences of Holly’s choices are all too real, and Holly stands to lose more than she ever realized she had.

I really enjoyed Strasnick’s HER AND ME AND YOU, so I had high hopes. I was not disappointed! Strasnick’s writing is raw and striking and I’m intensely envious of her talent.

I lurvelurvelurve tragically flawed characters, particularly in YA. Who hasn’t made a mistake or two during their adolescent years? Heck, I’m still making them. But it’s when you’re a teenager that everything’s so magnified, so life-or-death, that you feel like you’re going insane and this book captures that perfectly.

THIS.

When Holly’s internal voice said, “You think he’s yours but he’s not. You think he’s yours but really he’s mine”, I was gripped with fear for that girl. How far is she willing to go? What price will she pay? Is anybody left standing at the end?

Yes, there’s tragedy. But also humor, snark, romance, and sniffly moments in abundance. If you can make me alternately love, hate, and sympathize with a character, I’m yours forever. I highly recommend this one!

Read any good books this month?

19 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: November’s Best”

  1. Well NaNoWriMo realy slowed me down this month on reading. I read three books: Velveteen, I’m Down, and This Is Where I Leave You. Two out of three ain’t bad. Loved This IS Where I Leave You and Velveteen(even though I wanted more Bonesaw). I guess that’s not a bad number of books to have read during NaNoWriMo, but was missing reading quite a bit and got behind one book but caught up quickly. Reading Under the Eye of God for a blog tour and huh stay tuned for that on the 30th of November. Nothing Like You sounds interesting and not like a typical YA. I’ve gotten a little frustrated with some of them. They’re not what I usually go to for reading intertainment. I’m thinking of reading The Duff next. Have you read it? What did you think? What do you suggest I check out?

    Like

    1. I read your reviews for I’m Down and This Is Where I Leave You. I had an icky feeling about I’m Down, so your review didn’t help that much. LOL!

      I have to say I LOVE The Duff. I’ve read if four or five times. Definitely read that one. If you’re looking for more YA contemporary, try The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson, anything by Laura Weiss, and Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.

      Like

      1. Ok thanks for the suggestions have written them all down. I already read Anna and the French Kiss and enjoyed it. I also have Lola and the Boy Next Door on my shelf waiting to be read too along with Beauty Queens and the Diviners. whew! so many books, so little time. Happy reading and writing…… 🙂

        Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

