Road Trip Wednesday: Should I Stay or Should I NaNo?

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question. This Week’s Topic: Are you doing NaNoWriMo, or have you ever? Does having a deadline inspire you?

Holy cats, is it already that time again? It seems like it was just yesterday that I was freaking out about writing 50,000 words in 30 days. And then in a fit of insanity, I decided to go double or nothing and cranked out 100,000 words instead.

*pause for gratuitous back-patting*

So to answer the first question, this is my fifth year of NaNoWriMo and I’m a stone-cold addict at this point so there’s no way I’m not doing it again. In fact, this is my third effort this year, having won Camp NaNoWriMo in June and August.

To the second question, I normally loathe deadlines, especially if it’s for something I’m not interested in writing, but there’s something about the NaNo deadline that fires me up like no other. It’s basically a flat-out, ass-kicking sprint where I’m in direct competition with my fears and insecurities. I have to pull out every skill and trick I have to emerge victorious. I know that come Dec. 1 each year, I’ll be exhausted, but I’ll also be a winner. How could I not want that?

Courtesy nanowrimo.org

This year I have to decide: write a brand-new story or be a NaNo rebel and add wordcount to an existing one? Since today is the official NaNoWriMo Prep Day, I really need to figure this out. With so many stories in different stages, I’m reluctant to start a new one, even though you know I lurve shiny, new stories. But while I think about that, here’s some advice gleaned from the interwebs to help you get ready.

From Galleycat: What’s Inside Your Writing Survival Kit?

From Gotham Writers’ Workshop: Character Questionnaires

From Wren Doloro: How to Plot for #NaNoWriMo (Pantser Style)

From Da Twittas: #nanoprep

https://twitter.com/NaNoWriMoYWP/status/258626826669264897

Are you doing NaNoWriMo? If so and you need someone to virtually talk you off the ledge, find me under Russellorama.

16 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Should I Stay or Should I NaNo?”

  1. Word. I’m so in. Again.

    Are you going for the 50 or 100k mark this year? In an fit of insanity yesterday, I put aside my outline of the story I thought I was going to write, and revived my 2010 NaNo MG story.

    I have no idea which one I’ll do!

    Like

    1. As of right this second, I’m looking at 50K. That could always change! (See my comment to Kelly above) Bwahahahaa!

      Which story calls to you the most? That’s the one I’d pick.

      Like

    1. *technically* you’re supposed to start a new story. That’s why I’d be a NaNo rebel! 😉 But I have known people to finish existing stories, or revise, still pushing for the 50,000 word goal. I don’t think you’d get kicked out of the club or anything.

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

