The Next Big Thing: Week 15

If there’s one thing I love, it’s learning about what other writers are working on. So when Michelle A. Hansen tagged me for The Next Big Thing, I was more than eager to sign up. I get a chance to tell y’all what I’m up to, then I tag other amazing authors so you can get a peek in their worlds, and so on and so on and so on…

So let’s get into it!

What is the working title of your book? TOUCHED. I suck at naming things and sometimes it’s the last idea that comes to me, but this title popped into my head first thing. It could change anytime though! (Edit: This has been changed to HANDS OFF. See, told ya!)

Where did the idea come from for the book? When I was growing up, my mother would occasionally indulge my desire to be scared out of my wits by recounting tales of the odd, spooky, and supernatural things she experienced as a young girl. One story, about an older female relative who knew the history of objects with just a touch (which I learned is called psychometry), always stuck with me. This spring when I was plotsing ideas for Camp NaNoWriMo, I started thinking about what life would be like for a teenager with that gift. Would she openly embrace it or try to hide it? Could she control it or would it control her? How would it affect her relationships? What does it mean to be “normal”?

What genre does your book fall under? Apparently, young adult magical realism. So many sub-genres now!

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Honestly, I’m not sure these actors have been discovered yet. Besides, not having anyone in mind serves my fantasy of being *forced* to participate in a worldwide casting search for the perfect people to portray these characters.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? For Dash Green, secrets are revealed with a simple touch but when her boyfriend Noah betrays her, she realizes she can’t trust her instincts and suddenly the girl who knows everything is the last to know.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? The current plan is to query it and gain representation, but I’m not above self-publishing either. I’m open to whatever the universe brings.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? That’s funny. I’m still writing it! I did manage to crank out over 59,000 words in a month so that’s a good start.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Amy Kathleen Ryan’s VIBES and CONFESSIONS OF A TEENAGE PSYCHIC by Pamela Woods-Jackson.

Who or What inspired you to write this book? I wanted to try writing a different kind of contemporary story, while paying a tiny bit of homage to the supernatural-tinged YA books I enjoyed reading growing up.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? Dash is one of the most complicated characters I’ve ever written. When we meet her, she’s brokenhearted, angry, and feeling abandoned. She’s blessed with a sartorial spirit (she loves fashion and designs and makes her clothes), so she loves getting attention for her outward appearance. At the same time, Dash goes to great lengths to hide something that really makes her special. She wants nothing more than to be “normal” but she’s distressed when her gift seemingly fails her. She’s messy but you can’t help but want everything to work out for her, even when it looks like it won’t.

TAG – these guys are it: 

TL Conway: Supremely-gifted Middle Grade maven.

Sarah Negovetich: Fleet-fingered fast drafter of fantasy worlds.

Cara Davis: Fierce-footed novelist and snarkstress-in-crime.

Look for their posts next week! *Updated links to their posts added*

14 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing: Week 15”

  1. The name Dash makes me think of our friend!! You have such a tight one-line summary. I’m over here beating my head against the desk, trying to pull this all together. Very un-maven-like of me! 🙂

    Like

    1. I know! I think about her as I’m writing it. It’s short for Dasha (dosh-a) , which is a name I heard an adult shouting at a kid in the grocery store. I thought it sounded cool. I’m not worried about you, you’ll pull it together fabulously like always! This all about WIPs, remember? It doesn’t have to be perfect. 🙂

      Like

  2. I love the psychometry concept, especially exploring how it affects her relationships. Oh, and isn’t it exciting when your characters come to life and start telling you what to do? Dash sounds awesome! I have a minor character right now who is demanding to be a major character in my next book 🙂

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

