Insecure Writer’s Support Group: The Challenge of Writing YA

If you go through the lists of banned books, it’s amazing how often the young adult genre is represented. THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER, GOSSIP GIRL, TWILIGHT, THE HUNGER GAMES…unfortunately, I could go on and on.

Then there’s the ramping up of very vocal opposition to the content of books written for young people. It’s like there’s an assault on young adult fiction and those that write it and it makes me sad. There’s so many books that had a positive impact on me when I was younger. I can’t even list them all! But none of them corrupted me, or made me grow up too fast, or caused me to act out of character.

I guess all of the dismay about the “harm” some YA books are doing to their readers makes me reluctant to throw my hat into that ring. But then it also motivates me like crazy to produce a work that can have a positive affect on its readers. Because what I know is that those books that I read prepared me for so much.

When I did encounter the real-life scenarios, I had something to reference and reflect on. My decisions and actions were still completely my own, but having the information from those stories often acted like an additional piece of armor during the battle of adolescence.

Because my work often deals with the real yet uncomfortable things that happen to us as we grow up, I know it’s going to bother some people, or some may think it’s unrealistic, or feel that I’m trying to ruin their children. But despite that, I’m going to keep writing the stories that move me and the ones that I feel need to be told, even if it’s scary sometimes. 🙂

So that’s my rambly insecurity for the month. Thanks for listening!

6 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group: The Challenge of Writing YA”

  1. Great post. I love how you melded your IWSG post with the banned books theme. It really is especially scary to write for young people, but it’s also that much more rewarding if you can share with them something inspiring. Teens love to be rebels, so I’m thinking getting on a banned list is a good thing. Except for the fact that books are banned at all, that part is lame. Good luck!

    Like

  2. Oh, I really want to see that Perks of Being a Wallflower movie but it’s not playing near me:-( As for banned books, I agree with you. I try to write a positive message, but banned books sadden me. I also got all my role models from books since I didn’t have any real good ones in my life, and none of the books caused me to act out of character even when they had those controversial issues. It’s more like it educated me on how NOT to be, lol:-) Thanks for visiting my blog today!!

    Like

    1. What’s really weird is that a lot of the YA books that have been challenged/banned did have positive messages, but people were distracted by curse words or sexual behavior, or any number of other things.

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

