Road Trip Wednesday: Songs in the Key of Life

via yahighway.com

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question.This Week’s Topic: What music has been your summer soundtrack?

Yay for music questions! *muppet arms*

Music is a huge part of my life. My aunt is a classically trained opera singer, one grandmother sang in her church choir for years, the other played piano and sang backup in Memphis juke joints, my great-grandmother hosted jazz players in her home after late-night jam sessions at the Mutual Musicians Foundation, and my brothers and several cousins are musicians, songwriters, and producers. I sang in choirs and took piano lessons even though I really, really wanted to play drums instead.

The music that constantly played in our house while I was growing up was awesomely eclectic: jazz, blues, rock, new wave, pop, heavy metal, country, funk, r & b. On car trips, we’d play a game where someone said a random word or phrase and we had to sing a song that was related to it. Yes, that’s how music-nerdy we are.

So it’s no surprise that for me, music and writing are intertwined. Sometimes it feels like I’m composing rather than writing because I create playlists for practically everything: mood, character, theme, environment, and mental ass-kicking. This summer, which has been particularly wordy, has been filled with tunes:

I’LL GET OVER YOU

HEAD-NODDING HIP-HOP POETICS

GUT-WRENCHING VOICES FOR THE GODS

INTERPRETATIONS OF MASTER SONGWRITERS

12 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Songs in the Key of Life”

  1. I grew up with music too, as did my wife. In fact, our family will sometimes play a similar game–coming up with songs for every word someone says. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m jealous, would have loved to have such a musical family! Unfortunately we all have no talent… Oh, and random note, that music pic of the girl with the lights twined around her is gorgeous!
    My summer playlist has been more relaxed, with one favorite song whose lyrics were penned by a YA author 🙂

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

