Camp NaNoWriMo Starting Line

I was all ready to participate in Road Trip Wednesday but this week’s question is “What was the best book you read in July?” and I realized I didn’t finish a single book this month! That is really rare for me. But it’s okay. I have a TBR pile as tall as a Hobbit and I’m determined to at least finish one of them this month.

Also, Camp NaNoWriMo starts today! When I reminded The Roommate he said, “Oh, goodbye!” Yup, he knows the drill. πŸ™‚

I spent last night finishing up outlines and beat sheets and pep-talking myself into today’s 1,600 words. I tried to put all of the writerly foolishness I’ve encountered this week out of my head. All I can control right now is how and what I write. During last week’s #yalitchat, author Jonathan Maberry suggested we interview our characters in order to flesh them out. It was an eye-opener. I definitely felt like I was channeling my characters even more than normal.

So I’m off to find my cabin and get my bunk made up. Wish me luck!

13 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Starting Line”

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

