Makeovers, Copyrights & Updates

Ch-ch-changes

So you may have noticed that this blog looks different. Or if you haven’t, just take my word for it. It’s not that I didn’t like the former look, but it felt like a change was in order. So let me know if you think something’s wonky about the new look or if you have any suggestions.

I should’ve studied copyright law

Speaking of blogging, Ednah Walters recently wrote a very informative post about photograph usage in social media (blogs, tumblr, Facebook, etc.) I, like most people, assumed that if you attributed a photograph’s source or linked back to it then you were covered. Ednah’s post linked to author Roni Loren’s blog, where she recounted learning that common assumption was COMPLETELY FALSE the hard way.

I had a feeling this issue would become problematic for bloggers considering the major copyright problems inherent with photo-sharing sites like Pinterest, whose founders are still trying to figure it out. For the record, Pinterest’s current copyright statement is here.

By and large writers are huge advocates of fair usage and copyright (that’s why we completely lose our shit when someone plagiarizes), so I have no doubt that when improper photo attribution occurs, 99.9% of the time the blogger just needs education not litigation. But I completely understand the frustration that comes with someone misappropriating your art. So since intent means little in the eyes of the law in cases like these, I’ll be rejiggering my budget to include stock photos when necessary, use my own pics more often, and start working on changing/removing  images here.

Writerly updates

In my quest to see just how insane my writing life can become, I’m tossing my hat into the ring for for another crack at Camp NaNoWriMo in August so I’m busy outlining. It’s exciting and thrilling like all new love interests, I suppose. But I’m not overwhelmed with anxiety like I was in June. I feel like I’m getting much better at simultaneously drafting and revising work and putting more structure into my writing time.

And in case you’re wondering (it makes me feel better to imagine that you are, so just indulge me) here’s the current status of my works-in-progress:

  • SISTER STAR is chugging along nicely, with the draft almost finished at around 70,000 words. It will then go into the first revision queue.
  • AFTER THE JUMP is in its second revision and surprising me daily.
  • ‘TIL IT HAPPENS TO YOU is thisclose to being shiny, happy, and polished, the first to dip its toe into the Query Pool.
  • PLAYLIST is in its second revision, stubbornly refusing to let me be in charge.
10 thoughts on “Makeovers, Copyrights & Updates”

  1. Hi, yeah, I read Roni’s post. You can’t just put the photo credit below the photo, in most cases the photog. wants $. I mostly use my own photos. This will become a bigger issue with more folks on Pinterest etc. I’m doing Camp Nano as well if you want to email me over there, my user name is CatherineStine. Happy to cheer you on.

    Like

    1. Nope, not anymore! And I understand. But I can’t afford to be sued! So off they go. As soon as I get set up at Camp, I’ll give you a holler. Good luck to you!

      Like

  2. I was freaked out too and I’ve started deleting pictures. I’ve used some for posts though the few I use for my characters I bought from dreamstime. happy to see the progress you’ve made with your books…way to go. You should seriously start subbing them to agents

    Like

    1. I’ve just started the deletions. It’s going to take awhile! I hope nobody dings me while I’m trying to get it done. Thanks, I’m really proud of my work so far. The query process is terrifying but I can’t let irrational fears stop me.

      Like

  3. I don’t use images on my blog, other than book covers, which I’m pretty sure are okay. But I am on Pinterest, so I worry about that. I haven’t done anything as of yet, but if need be, I’ll just close my account there.

    I noticed you said Playlist won’t let you be in charge. Maybe that’s the problem. I’m a firm believer that the stories we tell are not our own. Let your characters tell it. It’s their story and they know best. Good luck!

    Like

    1. I think book covers and movie posters are fine, although I guess if somebody wanted to be technical they could make an issue of it. But why would HarperCollins or Penguin want to sue a blogger for giving free advertising to their books? That would be like suicide. Oh, and about PLAYLIST, that’s exactly it. I know the story isn’t mine and I’m being stubborn. So until I’m ready to be nice, I’ll have to leave it alone. 🙂

      Like

  4. Roni’s post freaked me out! I’m currently changing all the images on my blog and trying to find free or public domain photos. They aren’t as good as the originals, but what can you do?
    Good luck on your Aug NaNo effort. 🙂

    Like

    1. That post was so scary. I am a broke, struggling artist so there’s no way my budget can sustain legal fees. But I understand, I have a restricted Creative Commons license on both my blogs and don’t want anyone misappropriating my stuff either. The Wikimedia commons is a really good source but it’s going to take some time to wade through all the posts on my blogs and make those changes. Thanks for wishing me luck on NaNo, I will definitely need it!

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

