Road Trip Wednesday: Dream Retreat

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question. This Week’s Topic: If you could go on a writing retreat anywhere, where would you go & who would you bring?

This was a challenging question. There’s so many places that I want to visit but my fear with going to an awesome location for a writing retreat is that there would be so much for me to see and do that actual writing would be pushed to the bottom of the activity list! So I chose a place that would have inspiring natural beauty and the quiet seclusion I would need to be really productive. I’d bring my cats for company–I’m sure The Roommate would think I was insane for going to the middle of nowhere on purpose–and hopefully the spirit of Zora Neale Hurston would show up as my muse.

My Pick: Denali National Park & Preserve, Alaska, USA

CHECK “SEE NORTHERN LIGHTS” OFF BUCKET LIST

Six million acres, the tallest mountain in North America, forest, glaciers, wildlife. That just sounds amazing. And when I saw this interactive panorama, I was sold.

7 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Dream Retreat”

  1. Well, if you’re planning your trip in the summer then you have daylight 24/7. You will have plenty of time for writing (who needs to sleep). In the winter is just the opposite plus very low temperatures, way to cold to spend a lot of time outside. The benefit – plenty of time for writing!
    Evalina, This and that…

    Like

  2. I would love to visit Alaska–especially to see the Northern Lights! Trouble is, I’d never get any writing done, so it wouldn’t be much of a writing retreat for me… 🙂

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

