Insecure Writer’s Support Group: Going Out of My Head

My brain is scattered like buckshot.

Seriously. There are so many things picking and pulling and tugging at my consciousness that I fear I won’t ever be able to focus on anything for longer than thirty seconds ever again.

I have freelance writing obligations that are nearing deadline. A novel that needs to be polished and formatted. Pages that need to be revised. Social media content that needs researching. Consulting presentations that need scheduling.

I know, I know. “This too shall pass” and all that whatnot. What does it mean when you feel overwhelmed by the amount of work yet blessed that you have the work to begin with? It’s some weird mixture of guilt and gratitude. Guiltitude? Grilt?

Ugh. I told you I’m going crazy. Thanks for listening.

4 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group: Going Out of My Head”

  1. I vote for “Guiltitude.” It has a nice ring to it. 🙂

    Yes, you’re blessed with the fact that there’s work to do, but it’s TOTALLY understandable to be overwhelmed. When I feel like my brain is overflowing, I turn to a bulleted list system. I try to knock off 2-3 things from one list before I go to the next. This way, I don’t have a WHOLE! HOUSE! TO! CLEAN!. Instead, I empty the dishwasher, wipe down the stove, and take out the trash. Then move on to something else (usually writing).

    You know what works for you. Good luck, hon. And if you need to freak out, you know how to reach me. I’m a good listener. And then I’ll tell you to get back to work.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

