Multi-tasker or Plain Crazy?

I’m revising one novel, researching queries for another, adding wordcount to another, and prepping for Camp NaNoWriMo. And my dear friend Tricia reminded me that I only had until the end of June to claim my free printed copies of last year’s winning NaNoWriMo, so that story’s revision schedule (which I was doing all lackadasical-like)  is now shifting into warp speed. No biggie, right? Make it so.

Is it weird that I love this stuff? I’ve decided that this kind of variety is necessary or this writing thing becomes unbearable. The minute it starts feeling like drudgery, I know I’ll become one of those insufferable creative types who lament their state while swilling gin and tonics for breakfast.

[Note: Cocktails during Writing Happy Hour are always perfectly acceptable.]

So in the interest of prepping to tell stories over a virtual campfire, an outline and character sketches are already in progress and I’ve created the first playlist for my new stuff. I’m planning a few key lovey-dovey moments, some quite different from what I’ve done before, so I needed a “let’s-make-out” soundtrack.

Off to the writing cave!

9 thoughts on “Multi-tasker or Plain Crazy?”

  1. I’m, um, sorry? No, that’s not it. I’m not sorry to add something else to your plate. You know why? Because it’s going to be AMAZING to sit back and watch you knock all of these out of the park.

    For me–I needed to get the HM off my plate. Now that the run is behind me and my computer is back, I can focus on writing. (And by “focus” I mean “think about it and wonder if someone has invented the thought-to-type app yet because that would be totes handy.)

    Like

  2. You have me beat all to heck on the multi-tasking. I need variety, but on a purely practical level, I’ve learned that I have to limit how many things I’m trying to do at once. Currently suffering through a nasty cold and seriously debating whether the novel I’m working up for Camp NaNo is worth the trouble, and no energy for anything else.

    Like

    1. It’s really hard because I am so easily distracted by things. I have to make sure I’m not taking on more than I can handle. I work on several things for short periods of time during the day. I hope your cold gets better! It looks like I might not be getting to Camp until August.

      Like

      1. Feeling almost human again, thanks. It turns out that multi-tasking is just another way to feed my distractability, so I admire your self-discipline. And unfortunately caffeine calms me rather than energizes me. I thought about doing August Camp, but that’s too close to November, and by then I’ll be in a frenzy of outlining and notetaking. I’m still plugging away at preparing for June, so it looks as if I might make it. I’m not planning a big novel this time, just a novella, so it should be a bit less stressful than usual.

        Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

