Road Trip Wednesday: Back in Time

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question. This Week’s Topic: What book brings back memories?

This is an insanely difficult question to answer, mostly because there’s so many books that do this for me. But today, since I’m knee-deep in revisions for a young adult novel, I’m going with IT’S OKAY IF YOU DON’T LOVE ME by my authorly idol, Norma Klein.

Nestled in my pink beanbag chair surrounded by a moat of stuffed animals, Cracked magazines and comic books,  snacks at the ready (Red Drink and hot pickles with watermelon Now & Laters stuffed inside), I finished this book in one day during a hot, junior high summer.

I loved Jody’s city-smart brashness, self-confidence, and how she hid her vulnerability behind a detached exterior. Lyle reminded me of a lot of Midwestern boys I knew, polite and self-effacing, yet desperate to appear worldly and tough.  Whether the author intended to or not, the story taught me that it wasn’t weird for girls to be curious about sex, that you weren’t a slut if you liked more than one person at a time, and that boys were just as confused about this growing-up thing as I was.

I read the last sentence, closed the cover, and every emotion crystallized into one thought: “I want to write like this.”

4 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Back in Time”

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

