Road Trip Wednesday: Books, Repurposed

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question. This Week’s Topic: What’s your favorite use for a book besides reading it?

I’ve seen a ton of great uses for repurposed books, especially here and here. And if that doesn’t inspire you, there’s even a book about repurposing books!

Around here, books are perpetual and perplexing house guests. They take up a lot of room,  don’t pay rent, and rarely increase in value but when it’s time for them to leave I have difficulty saying goodbye. Although primarily for reading (and I usually have two or three going at the same time), occasionally they double as sculpture:

13 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Books, Repurposed”

  1. I have a hard time letting go of books as well, so they are on my shelves, in the closet and the garage. But I dropped a pile of books on my toe last night, so that helped convince me (at least today) I need to take a long, critical look at what are on my “keeper” shelves!
    By the way, I like your art…I might have to try something like that. 🙂

    Like

  2. While the re-purposed books look nice, I could never bring myself to purposefully cut up a book. Eek! Makes me squeemish even thinking about it! 🙂

    Like

  3. Nice! I have 4 shelves of books and while I need to purge some to make room for the new ones, I can’t bring myself to do it. I’d rather go through my closet than my bookshelves.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

