U: Unibrow

The actual medical name for this condition is synophrys, meaning “hypertrophy or fusion of the brows.” In most Western cultures, this is definitely an unwanted condition. Men and women routinely tweeze, bleach, wax or laser themselves to keep it at bay. However, the Ancient Greeks thought having a unibrow meant you were wise and during medieval times, European Jewish culture believed facial hair on women was good luck.

It’s amazing how perceptions change depending on where you’re born or the culture you identify with. What’s always cool? Being comfortable with who and what you are.

So who cares if your eyebrows meet in the middle? If you like it, I love it! Do you, no matter what.

6 thoughts on “U: Unibrow”

  1. I simply love that you wrote about unibrows. With all the reading I’ve done during this challenge, I can safely say the the most interesting posts are also the most unique. Yours definitely qualifies!

    Like

  2. The best thing I ever did for myself was get the eyebrows I inherited from my father waxed and under control. You might think I’m kidding. I’m not. They were HUGE.

    Like

  3. Wow, the world sure has changed! If I left my brows to themselves I would look just like Bert, ok, with a bit more hair on top, but otherwise, exactly the same. 🙂

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

