S: Sagittarius

Horoscopes were a big deal in my family. My mother swore they were the truth and religiously bought those little paper zodiac scrolls at the grocery store every month. My father had a rather impressive collection of gold zodiac jewelry. My aunt wallpapered her bedroom in velvet, black-light zodiac sex position posters. Eventually, I got into it and my moods became more affected by the predictions in Seventeen magazine than I’d like to admit.

I’m not nearly as influenced by it now, but I’m still curious about whether our futures can be predicted in the stars.  Personality traits are assigned to us via zodiac signs that can feel uncannily accurate, while sometimes being  so general they can apply to anyone.

Here’s  what the zodiac says about my sign, Sagittarius (Born November 23 – December 21)

From astrology.com:

“The Sag-born are generous and just — much like a noble leader. These folks are also expansive in their thoughts, as well as in their approach. Sags are forever reaching for knowledge, understanding and answers. They are outspoken in their beliefs, at times to the point of exaggeration. This may be due to their unflinching optimism. Sags are also a lucky bunch, thanks to Jupiter’s golden glow. They’re quick to take a gamble on things, feeling both lucky and smart. While the process of exploration is what fuels Sagittarians (and translating that to others as a teacher and philosopher), they need to be aware of their tendency to procrastinate [This is me ALL OVER.]Those born under this sign can be quite self-indulgent since things come so easily to them (thanks to their charming and sociable natures). Smart Archers, however, will catch themselves in time, the better to continue their good work.

It’s the Archer that represents Sagittarians, although in this case it’s a Centaur (half man, half beast) that is flinging the arrows. Centaurs were the intellectuals of ancient Roman mythology, and Sagittarians are quick to consider themselves their modern-day counterparts. Those born under this sign are clear thinkers, and choose to look at the big picture most of the time. They also like it when others agree with their well-thought-out point of view [Because we’re always right – duh!] The alternative to this, for better or for worse, is a Sag who can become argumentative and blunt. That’s not to say that these folks are intransigent — Archers will listen to what others have to say, in keeping with the Mutable Quality assigned to them. Indeed, Sagittarians are enthusiastic consumers of information (and enthusiastic in general), the better to get the answers they need. It’s also a good idea to give Sags lots of room to explore their world. Once these folks start to feel hemmed in, they’ll become impatient and difficult.

The Element associated with Sagittarius is Fire. Just as a fire can move quickly and uncontrollably, so can Sagittarius as they flit from one thing to the next, never looking back. For the Sag-born, it’s all about action and adventure (and, hopefully, conclusions). These folks love their physicality and are often athletic, and certainly full of stamina. Life for these folks is played full-on, which is why it’s chock-full of experiences. Archers are outgoing, enthusiastic and tend to overstep their bounds as a result, falling prey to the likes of foot-in-mouth disease. They can talk so fast (and so much) that they don’t process the full weight of what they’re saying, leading to the occasional hurt feeling [Y’all just need tougher skins.] Often, however, their words serve to inspire others and to get things going. Yes, Sagittarians are straight-ahead folks who are curious, spiritual and true believers. The fact that they attract others with ease should be no surprise, since they have a great sense of fun and enjoy a good time. They don’t lack for confidence, either, not a whit! High-spirited Sags love to socialize — with an ever-changing crew.”

Do you believe in the zodiac? Does your sign accurately reflect your personality?

11 thoughts on “S: Sagittarius”

  1. I sort of half take it seriously and yes, my sign, Capricorn does fit pretty well. I’m ambitious, good with $, determined to climb that mountain (The mountain goat) and stubborn. I also feel very connected to the earth. As far as your post, I like the idea of collecting gold horoscope jewelry.

    Like

  2. Where did you find the overall “definition” of your zodiac?

    I like to read overviews, except that I’m a Leo and really, it makes me sound totally bitchy. I’m an introvert, so I basically go against everything the Leo’s are “supposed” to be: center of attention, extroverted, life of the party, etc… No thanks, I’d rather watch and form my own opinions.

    Like

    1. I went to astrology.com for the basic overview. I’ve known a lot of Leos and only a couple of them fit the standard definition. One of my Leo friends was into astrology and explained about being on the cusp of a sign, or having a particularly planetary influence that made her something of a zodiac hybrid. Maybe that’s what’s happening in your case!

      Like

  3. When I read about Aries, it seems pretty close as a general personality trait description. But I don’t put much stock in the monthly or daily predictions. I used to check a daily online version a lot, but haven’t in years…maybe I should find one again. 🙂

    Like

  4. I grew up with it around me, but not only in those small scrolls you find at the checkout stand. My mother used to do personal charts. That takes into consideration where the planets were aligned at the precise moment of your birth. It’s much more focused on your overall influences than a broad based definition of your basic attributes. Interesting, yes…

    Does my sign accurately reflect your personality? If you take into consideration all the influences it does a pretty darn good job, but if you read the basic definition you will be lulled into a false sense of understanding.

    Like

    1. I’ve never had a chart done. It would be interesting to see a more detailed picture based on planetary alignment. Some days it literally feels like some cosmic force is controlling me. I’ll say or do something and immediately think, “Did I just do that? That was SO not like me.” 🙂

      Like

      1. It can be very revealing. There is a site that does one for free online, if I remember what the addy is I will send it to you.

        Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

