P: Pie

April means that it’s officially strawberry season!

Yes, I’m excited about that.

I try my best to eat produce in season and from local sources if possible. I’m not a fanatic about it; when I first started this practice it was purely economical as buying this way tends to be much cheaper, but I was also pleasantly surprised to find that the local stuff usually tastes better. I gave in and indulged my strawberry cravings too early this year, buying some that spent way too much time on a truck, and my taste buds paid dearly for it.

So in honor of the return of this magical accessory fruit and the subject of this post, I’m sharing photos of the strawberry pie The Roommate convinced me to make last summer. It was my first attempt and quite a departure from my usual pies (apple, chocolate, chicken pot) but it tasted delicious.

Here’s how I did it: (from Allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 1 (9 inch) pie crust, baked
  • 1 quart fresh strawberries
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  1. Arrange half of strawberries in baked pastry shell. Mash remaining berries and combine with sugar in a medium saucepan. Place saucepan over medium heat and bring to a boil, stirring frequently.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together cornstarch and water. Gradually stir cornstarch mixture into boiling strawberry mixture. Reduce heat and simmer mixture until thickened, about 10 minutes, stirring constantly. Pour mixture over berries in pastry shell. Chill for several hours [note: The Roommate could only wait about three] before serving. In a small bowl, whip cream until soft peaks form. Serve each slice of pie with a dollop of whipped cream.
14 thoughts on “P: Pie”

  1. Looks tasty! My hubby just bought our first strawberries of the season last night to go with an angel food cake. My favourite combination!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Happy A to Z’ing!

    Like

  2. I’ve never tried whipping heavy cream. Do you do it by hand, or use a mixer? And please share your chicken pot pie recipe! I love warm, savory chicken and carbohydrate recipes (pot pie, mashed potatoes, dumplings, noodle soup, on and on and on).

    Like

    1. I did it by hand. It wasn’t too complicated but I could definitely see myself cheating with Cool Whip next time. 🙂 I’m also a big fan of chicken and carbs. I usually make the pot pie from memory but I’ll dig around and see if there’s a recipe that comes close.

      Like

  3. Yummy! I will make this and soon. I am usually a crumble girl, because pie crusts never turn out how I want them to. But, since you bake this crust then add the fruit, this might be my thing!

    Like

    1. I’m definitely not skilled enough to make my own crust so this works out well for me. I used a graham cracker one and it tasted pretty good. Hope it turns out well for you!

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

