M: Magic

I’ve been fascinated by magic since I was little. I ate that slight-of-hand stuff up with a spoon. All the other kids wanted to figure out how the tricks were done, but I preferred illusion and mystery to cold, hard realism.

For me, magic is about wonder and possibility. I particularly like the idea of magical objects.  Found in every culture in the world, these objects are frequently represented in books, film and folklore. Large, small or somewhere in between, sometimes a certain word or phrase is needed to invoke its power or you may only need to hold it in your hand. Whatever its configuration, by simply possessing these objects your power is augmented and your limits transcended.

Some of my favorite magical objects:

  • Carpets. Not only is the idea of it freaking cool, it stands out as a fast and environmentally sound mode of travel.

  • Wands. The key to wielding them is knowing the appropriate spells, but I love the idea that with the right words and a flick of the wrist, you can alter reality.

  • Rings. Slip one on and you could become invisible, live forever, grant your heart’s desire or, in the case of LORD OF THE RINGS, go stark raving mad. No risk, no reward!

  • Mirrors. The queen in SNOW WHITE AND THE SEVEN DWARVES totally wasted her opportunity. You have a mirror that will tell you anything you want to know about the universe and you’re worried about your looks? Priorities!

What magical objects do you admire?

22 thoughts on “M: Magic”

  1. I’ve always been drawn to magic that doesn’t require an object. Like ‘weaving’ in Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. The idea that magic lives inside us and we only need to figure out how to use it is…magical. 🙂

    Like

  2. I like the idea of a piece of magical jewelry. A cursed ring, a pocket watch, a necklace… I blame (or thank, depending on the day) The Lord of the Rings books for that. 🙂

    Like

  3. You know I never wanted a magical object–well, okay, I did, but what I really wanted was to be able to fly. I guess the magic carpet would’ve worked for that, but I always wished I could fly on my own.

    Like

  4. I like amulets, and the idea of being able to cast spells while wearing them.

    Anytime I see amulet-like necklaces while out and about shopping I feel strongly drawn to them.

    Like

  5. Oh, I liked this post very much! The word ‘Magic’ is a great m-word. So far this is tghe first blog post that I’ve read with it. I agree with you about the wicked step-mother queen in Cinderella. Of all the stupid questions to ask. Tomorrow’s weather would be worth more!
    Great post on Magic!
    Best wishes,
    Anna
    Anna’s A-Z, the letter M

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

