J: Jingling Baby

A new story’s been flirting with me hard. I tried to resist its charms because I’ve been neglecting my editing and revising schedule but I’m easy, so I’m giving it some attention.

Music is a huge part of my process and my writing usually starts with a song. Two girls (one of whom is the aforementioned N) and one boy form the nexus of this new story and the first thing that came to me when I was making notes about the boy was LL Cool J’s “Jingling Baby” from 1989’s Walking With a Panther.

GO 'HEAD BABY

The song is braggadocious, loud, and obnoxious but has so much swagger and charisma that despite your best efforts you can’t help but get sucked in. Plus it comes from an era when cell phones were the size of bricks and canary yellow leather Kangols were the height of fashion. What’s not to love?

10 thoughts on “J: Jingling Baby”

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

