C: Cryptids

I am completely enamored with Cryptozoology. The name comes from a fancy-sounding Greek word that means “study of hidden animals.” It gets absolutely no love as a hard science (something about that pesky disregard of the Scientific Method) but the animals that Cryptozoologists study, Cryptids, hold a special fascination.

DO YOU BELIEVE IN ME NOW?

It seems like the stuff of fantasy until you realize that some of these animals, thought previously to be the result of wacky scientists experimenting with the wrong chemicals or spending too much alone time in the wild, actually turned out to be real. The kangaroo, okapi, mountain gorilla, giant squid, platypus and dinosaur were all thought to be fictional creatures at one point.

Cryptids play a central role in some of my favorite books including Jules Verne’s  TWENTY THOUSAND LEAGUES UNDER THE SEA (giant squid), Michael Critchton’s CONGO (homicidal hybrid gorillas) and JURASSIC PARK (dinosaurs), Maggie Stiefvater’s WOLVES OF MERCY FALLS series (werewolves), and China Miéville’s KRAKEN (more massive squids!)

Perhaps it’s only a matter of time until we find irrefutable proof of Big Foot, the Loch Ness Monster or my personal favorite, the Chupacabra.

39 thoughts on “C: Cryptids”

  1. Cryptids -sounds cryptic! Like some of these “hidden animals”. Would be neat if someday we did find evidence for sure of BigFoot, LochNess and the Chupacabra (this one creeps me out!) Glad to meet up here on the A to Z! Look forward to more of your posts!

    Like

  2. Cryptids -sounds cryptic! Like some of these “hidden animals”. Would be neat if someday we did find evidence for sure of BigFoot, LochNess and the Chupacabra (this one creeps me out!) Glad to meet up here on the A to Z! Look forward to more of your posts.

    Like

    1. I can only imagine the terror that people at sea felt after being attacked by one of those things. And then to have everyone at home call you crazy when you describe it!

      Like

  3. lol @ Chupacabra. I’m not at all ashamed to admit I first heard of that term while watching Supernatural. 🙂

    Personally, I’d really like to think the Loch Ness Monster is real. And Yetis.

    Like

    1. I haven’t watched Supernatural yet. It’s in my Netflix queue. I have to get through Lost first! Considering all of the wacky stuff they’ve pulled from the water recently, Nessie is bound to show up sometime.

      Like

  4. I grew up in a town in Upstate New York, Whitehall, that is known for Big Foot. I know it sounds silly – Big Food in Upstate New York, but I totally believe. Okay, maybe not totally, but I’m open to the idea!

    Like

    1. I was watching “Finding Bigfoot” and they said upstate New York is perfect Sasquatch country. Full of forests, plenty of places to hide and stuff to eat. I’m totally open to the possibility. Again, wouldn’t want to run up against one in the woods but it’s just as likely as any other animal.

      Like

  5. I don’t think I’d want to see that movie, but this is a very interesting post. I learned a new word. :∙)

    Like

    1. I was surprised at that too. But then reading the earliest descriptions made it seem a little wacky. Two headed beast, stands on hind legs like humans, hops around, etc. 🙂

      Like

  6. Oh, I would love to see proof of the chupacabra.

    Your blog rocks! It’s amazing meeting so many people on the A-Z challenge. I’ll be checking back with you, count on it!
    -Chris

    Like

  7. Somehow I have troubles with your comments system. It keeps signing me out, and I am not sure if I am doing it right nor now. So just in case here it is again:

    I’ve never heard the word before. It even sounds unusual. My niece has a special love for unusual words and animals. This one should make her excited. I will share it with her later today.

    Like

    1. I’m sorry the comments were buggy. I’ve checked the settings and everything seems in order but you never know with WordPress sometimes. Thanks for reading and sharing the post. Your niece sounds like someone I’d get along with. 🙂

      Like

  8. I’ve never heard the word before. It even sounds unusual. My niece has a special love for unusual words and animals. This one should make her excited. I will share it with her later today.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

