Road Trip Wednesday: March’s Best

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question. This Week’s Topic: What was the best book you read in March?

March has been an interesting reading month. Highlights included Stephen King’s ON WRITING, Jennifer Echol’s ENDLESS SUMMER, and Susane Colasanti’s WAITING FOR YOU.

But I have to give the Absolute Best Thing I’ve Read in a Long Time Award to Stephen Emond’s WINTER TOWN.

My reaction upon finishing it via Twitter:

Why don’t more novels contain illustrations? It’s like once we leave the picture book stage, it’s not even a consideration. From a design standpoint it is breathtakingly gorgeous.

FULL OF VISUAL GOODNESS!

From a writing standpoint, I was intensely jealous (the mark of something I truly enjoy) and full of admiration for each and every word.  Plus I was completely swoony after taking that journey with Evan and Lucy. They are steadily creeping to the top of my Favorite YA Romances List.

What did you enjoy reading this month?

11 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: March’s Best”

  1. I’ve heard some wonderful things about Wintertown–but your opinion is kind of sealing the deal for me!

    Guess it’s high time I set aside $40 and head directly to the local Half Price Books…

    Like

  2. Hmm, I have to think about this. I read a lot of great books. Masters of the Veil, Operative, Night Sky, Sirenz Back in Fashion, Hollyweird, and now I’m reading Pure. I really enjoyed all of them.

    Like

  3. I read several books in March, but my favorite was probably “The Power of Three,” by Diana Wynne Jones. It’s a great little fairy tale with a twist, that I won’t even hint at for fear of spoiling anybody who wants to read it!

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

