Insecure Writer’s Support Group: Persistent Pessimism

I’m a bit late with this but I admit to struggling with the following:

  • I am a lazy editor of my own work. Somebody’s else’s stuff I can just dig into with reckless abandon. My own, meh. It’s not that I don’t think it needs editing but sometimes I’d much rather be writing new words than poring over my old ones.
  • I will never be a “flowery” writer. You know the kind that make you swoon with their brilliance? Yeah. So not me.
  • I’m too easily distracted. I get caught in YouTube death spirals all the time. It starts as research and then next thing you know, I’m watching “The Magic School Bus.”
  • By the time I’m published, I’ll be too old to enjoy it. Or if it does happen, I’ll be so overcome with joy that I’ll drop dead like that guy in “Waking Ned Devine.”

Something that helped the insecurity a tad: My pitch was selected for NaNoWriMo’s Pitchapalooza! Hop on over and check it out. I am perfectly happy to exchange cupcakes for votes. I have no shame.

15 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group: Persistent Pessimism”

  1. LOL @ youtube death spirals. My friends are always asking me where I find the crazy links I send them… it’s all from those death spirals.
    Hoping to do NaNoWriMo this year so I when I say I’m working on a story it’s because I really am.
    All the best w/ Pitchapalooza

    Like

  2. You made me smile when you said that you were too insecure to post your Insecure Writer’s post! (Maybe because I know exactly how that feels!)
    And I wouldn’t worry about the flowery writing. Your own words are the only words you need and if you can make someone smile, that is the best writing of all!
    Good luck with your Pitchapalooza! I’m heading on over to check it out and see if there’s any cupcakes left for me. 😉

    Like

      1. I know it’s nuts to compare yourself to others writers but that is what insecurity is all about. That stuff is so not rational!

        Thanks! I’m glad you don’t need the baked goods in order to vote for me although bribery cupcakes are the most delicious.

        Like

    1. This is true. Sometimes I get caught up in all that, wondering if I have it in me to write a “classic” book but I doubt those authors even knew they were writing something that would hold up so well over time.

      Like

  3. For editing, a trick that almost never lets me down is to set the offending story away for a couple months (or five, or ten) until you’ve forgotten it. Then, when you pull it back out, it’s just like seeing someone else’s work.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

