Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme I’ve been stalking for a while over at The Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic:

Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings

1. Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler.  I want this book because the main character makes cupcakes.  Don’t judge me.

2. Finding Somewhere by Joseph Monniger.  The story of two girls who try to save an old horse bound for the great beyond.  Throw in a road trip and I’m hooked.

3. Blink & Caution by Tim Wynne-Jones.  Blackmail, intrigue and love on the run.  Sign me up.

4. Family by Micol Ostow. I’m ready to give episodic verse a try and this story of  escaping your past and crafting your own tribe intrigues me.

5. Bitter End by Jennifer Brown. I love supporting authors but particularly ones that live in my hometown.  Besides that, this story of a violent teenage relationship strikes a personal note for me and needs to be told.

6. The Summer of Firsts and Lasts by Terra Elan McVoy. I read McVoy’s After the Kiss in one sitting and completely fell in love with her characters’ strong voices. Plus I love books about summer.

7. The Taste of Salt by Martha Southgate. Some find stories told from multiple points of view distracting but I love them.  I’m also fascinated by addiction  and the lasting damage it can cause families for generations.

8. Wintertown by Stephen Edmond. Expectations, longing, anticipation and opposites attracting.  Yes, please.

9. Nothing Like You by Lauren Strasnick. I read an excerpt and was sold from page one.  Who hasn’t done something on a whim only to discover that action has unintended consequences? *raises hand*

10. Zone One by Colson Whitehead. I’m a sucker for disaster stories.  At first glance, this seems like a typical post-apocalyptic zombie yarn until you realize danger lurks in the “normal” people who refuse to accept that their world has changed.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings”

  1. 1. ‘Bittersweet’ by Sarah Ockler. I second you. I heard about this novel through some type of social media program (Twitter, I think) and I read the excerpt. It sounds amazing. She pulled me into her world and intrigued me with the story.

    Can’t wait til it’s published. good choice!

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

