What’s Next?

Novel Writing Freakout Month (previously known as “November”) has ended.  My goal was successfully completed, carpal tunnel was avoided and my marriage is still intact.  I accomplished a butt-load of stuff and yet I’m feeling a bit lost post-celebration.

First on the list of to-dos is getting some sleep or at least normalize my sleep patterns which were wrecked last month.  The final day of NaNoWriMo I was awake 21 out of 24 hours.  While it helped me write nearly 29,000 words in one day, it was hell on my internal sleep clock.  Never again. I’m still coming down from the caffeine high that was required to make that happen.

I am divorcing this year’s story for a couple of weeks.  It’s not a true divorce, we really just need some space.  Then I’m going edit it like mad while also finally completing revisions from last year’s NaNo.  I fell prey to all kinds of foolishness that kept me from properly finishing that story, so I can’t let that happen again.

Somewhere in the midst of all that, I need to draft and research posts for my blogs for the remainder of the year, write a guest post for one of my favorite blogs, finish residency applications, buy Christmas presents, tackle my to-read list, grapple with the idea of going back to school (again!) and become reacquainted with the gym.

Thank goodness there’s a vacation in the works next month to keep me from going insane! I’m thinking the beach will be perfect inspiration.  🙂

2 thoughts on “What’s Next?”

  1. Oh. My. God.

    29,000 words in one day HAS to be a new record! How is that even physically and mentally possible? The most I’ve done is maybe ~3,000 words in a day. Max.

    A serious congratulations. Now rest up before your body gives out on you.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

