Drama? Yes, Please!

I’m at the point in my current work in progress where I need to amp up the conflict STAT.   Everyone approaches writing differently, but normally when I’m trying to work out the beginning of a new story I think about two things: What’s going to happen and who is it going to happen to?

That seems rather elementary, but I’ve discovered that the more I write, the more complex it becomes and that’s okay.  I mean, a story about one thing that happens to one person is a good start but then what? As someone who was raised watching daytime “stories”, I learned rather quickly that lots of twists and turns, when handled deftly, can keep audiences enthralled for years.

R.I.P. Victor Newman - AGAIN

In my personal life, I have a pretty stringent no-drama policy.  Not that I run away when it rears its head, but thankfully I have learned to squash it pretty quickly and without police involvement.  So while this keeps things pretty zen, it’s not exactly rich conflict-mining material.

To find those times when high-stakes drama was the norm, I must harken back to my teens and early 20s when I practically made a career of it.  Sometimes I was the Passive Observer, sometimes the Chief Shit-Stirrer, but always right in the midst.  I’m not proud of that legacy, but it definitely gives me a cornucopia of situations to draw inspiration from!

I gave a quick run-down of the conflict I’d just written (Stolen kisses! Illicit hookups! Fire!) to one of my friends and she said, “How do you come up with this stuff?” When I told her it was largely based on real-life events, she laughed, “You know all of the crazy people.”

That’s because I was one of them.

2 thoughts on “Drama? Yes, Please!”

  1. Thanks for your insight and your humor . . .I listened to a song yesterday that reminded me a few years of my life 17-19 when I was in the midst of junk – although I wouldn’t wish any of those experiences on anyone else, they do give me something to work with when it comes to enlivening a plot.
    Last year during NaNo I seemed to hit all the heavy stuff right away – the drama, the sword fights (fantasy writing), etc. and this year it took me 25,000 words to get to any kind of action scene, but there was drama on the way – just not the sword-brandishing kind. It’s interesting how each novel takes its own course.

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

